Awards & Recognition > Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships

Causality in Statistics Education Award
The Causality in Statistics Education Award is aimed at encouraging the teaching of basic causal inference in introductory statistics courses. Donated by Judea Pearl, the prize carries a monetary award of $5,000 to a person or team that does the most to enhance the teaching and learning of causal inference in statistics.

Deming Lecturer Award
Established to honor the accomplishments of W. Edwards Deming, this award recognizes the accomplishments of the awardee and enhances the awareness among the statistical community of the scope and importance of Deming's contributions.

Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund Scholarship
Established by Westat to honor its co-founder and Chairman Emeritus, this scholarship is awarded to outstanding graduate students in survey statistics to help support their graduate education.

Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award
The Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award was established to recognize members of the media for their presentation of the science of statistics and its role in public life.

Fellows of the ASA
Nominated by their peers, ASA Fellows are members of established reputation who have made outstanding contributions in some aspect of statistical work. Given annually, this is a great honor, as the number of recipients is limited to no more than one-third of 1% of the ASA membership.

Founders Award
The ASA Founders Award recognizes members who have rendered distinguished service to the association.

Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship
Jointly sponsored by the ASA Committee on Women in Statistics and the Caucus for Women in Statistics, the Cox Scholarship was established to encourage women to enter statistically oriented professions.

Gottfried E. Noether Awards
The Noether awards were established to recognize distinguished researchers and teachers and to support the field of nonparametric statistics. The Noether Senior Scholar Award is presented to a distinguished senior researcher or teacher in nonparametric statistics. The Noether Young Scholar Award is presented to an accomplished young researcher to promote research and teaching in nonparametric statistics.

Government Statistics Section Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship
Awarded jointly with the ASA's Social Statistics Section, this scholarship supports work toward a career in government statistics. The scholarship encourages promising young statisticians to consider a future in government statistics. It provides funding of up to $1,000 for use in exploring any of a broad number of opportunities for furthering the development of a career related to government statistics.

Harry V. Roberts Statistical Advocate of the Year Award
The Harry V. Roberts Statistical Advocate of the Year Award, established in 2002 by the Chicago Chapter, is named for Harry V. Roberts, an exemplar of statistical advocacy. It recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of those who have successfully advocated appropriate and effective uses of statistics and data-analytic approaches in business and the public sector. Additionally, the award recognizes the promotion of statistical reasoning by individuals who may or may not be statisticians.

Jackie Dietz Best JSE Paper Award
The Best JSE Paper Award was established in 2011 and is given annually to the best paper among all those appearing in the Journal of Statistics Education (JSE) in a given year as determined by the Best JSE Paper Award Committee. This award is named in honor of Jackie Dietz, the founding editor of the Journal of Statistics Education.

John J. Bartko Scholarship Award
The John J. Bartko Scholarship Award was established to help promising young statisticians who are in at least the second year of a master's degree program in statistics or biostatistics or who have completed such a program within the two years prior to the award date.

Karl E. Peace Award
The Karl E. Peace Award for Outstanding Statistical Contributions for the Betterment of Society, established in 2012, recognizes statisticians who have made substantial contributions to the statistical profession and to society in general. The award was established by Christopher K. Peace, son of Karl E. Peace, on behalf of the Peace family to honor the life work of his father.

Lester R. Curtin Award
The Lester R. Curtin Award was recently established to help promising young health statisticians get the skills and training they need to make significant contributions in their area of study. The award was created to honor the memory of Lester, or "Randy," and his long career of working tirelessly to teach and mentor his colleagues at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).

Lingzi Lu Memorial Award
This award is being established in memory of Lingzi Lu, whose life was taken from her, not long before she was to graduate from the masters program in statistics at Boston University, by the senseless bombing at the Boston Marathon in April, 2013.

ASA Mentoring Award
The ASA Mentoring Award is given each year to a member who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to providing significant early-career support to statistics students, statisticians, or statistical researchers. The award honors those recognized by their colleagues for their sustained career-long efforts championing the work and developing the careers of statisticians. The ASA and mentoring award committee strive for a diverse applicant pool from government, academia, and business.

Monroe G. Sirken Award in Interdisciplinary Survey Methods Research
Monroe G. Sirken created an endowment to recognize a distinguished researcher for contributions to interdisciplinary survey research that improve the theory and methods of collecting, verifying, processing, presenting, or analyzing survey data.

Outstanding Statistical Application Award
This award recognizes a paper that is an outstanding application of statistics in any substantive field.

Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award
The Wilks award, one of the ASA's most prestigious, was established to honor the memory and distinguished career of Samuel S. Wilks by recognizing outstanding contributions to statistics that carry on in the spirit of his work.

Statistics in Physical Engineering Sciences Award
The Statistics in Physical Engineering Sciences Award recognizes outstanding collaborative efforts between statisticians and scientists throughout the physical and engineering sciences.

Waller Awards
The Waller Education Award was established by a contribution from retired ASA Executive Director Ray Waller and his wife, Carolyn, to honor individuals for innovation in the instruction of elementary statistics. The Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award is intended to recognize an individual for sustained excellence in teaching and statistics education.

W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting
In December of 2008, the ASA Board of Directors accepted a gift from Janet Elashoff, daughter of W. J. Dixon, to endow a fund establishing the W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting. The award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to statistical consulting and to honor the memory of Dixon.

W. J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing
The W. J. Youden award was established to recognize publications that make outstanding contributions to the design and/or analysis of interlaboratory tests or describe ingenious approaches to the planning and evaluation of data from such tests.

Many ASA sections and chapters offer their own awards. Visit the section and chapter web sites to view their award offerings.