Education > Graduate Education > Scholarships for Graduate Students

Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship


The ASA Committee on Women in Statistics and the Caucus for Women in Statistics

Purpose and History

The Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship was established in 1989 to encourage more women to enter statistically oriented professions.

Selection Criteria

Application is limited to women who are citizens or permanent residents of the United States or Canada and who are admitted to full-time study in a graduate statistics program by July 1 of the award year. Women in or entering the early stages of graduate training (MS or PhD) are especially encouraged to apply.

Form of Award

The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 prize.

Important Dates

Application deadline is February 23 each year. See flyer for details.
The award will be presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in August.


  • Click here to download the application and academic reference letter forms as a MS Word file.
  • Click here to download a Cox Scholarship status form.

Committee Members

See the committee page for more information about the committee. For specific questions about the Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship, contact the committee chair

Current Winners
Sara Ann Stoudt, University of California at Berkeley
Elizabeth Sweeney , The Johns Hopkins University

Honorable Mentions
Meridith L. Bartley, The Pennsylvania State College
Kaitlyn Cook, Harvard University
Jami Nishelle Jackson, North Carolina State University

Recipient History