Awards & Recognition > Awards and Scholarships

Deming Lecturer Award

Dr. W. Edwards Deming

The Deming Lecturer Award was established in 1995 to honor the accomplishments of W. Edwards Deming, recognize the accomplishments of the awardee, and enhance the awareness among the statistical community of the scope and importance of Deming's contributions. Notable among Deming's achievements are the following:

Contributions to Sampling

  • Wrote one of the first books on survey sampling in 1950, which is still in print
  • One of the earliest writers to consider multiple factors that might affect the quality of survey estimates
  • Quality in sample surveys draws on many ideas from Deming's work on quality improvement

Statistical Contributions to Business and Industry

  • Deming's skills as an extraordinary data analyst, methodologist, and thinker about the foundations of learning from data led to his being the leading analyst of data in the transportation industry.
  • More generally, Deming was a powerful and tireless advocate for the use of statistical methods and thinking for quality improvement in business and industry.

Contributions to Management

  • Developed and disseminated a theory of management (i.e., System of Profound Knowledge) that contributed materially to improved performance of enterprises in many countries, most notably in Japan and the USA.

Selection Criteria

  • The individual has either made significant contributions in fields related to those in which Deming devoted his career-including survey sampling, statistics in the transportation industry, quality management, and quality improvement-or has made significant contributions through effective promotion of statistics and statistical thinking in business and industry.
  • The lecture should be presented in the spirit of Deming's views about his statistical practice (Code of Professional Conduct, 1972), which were "I aim to engage only in work that offers opportunity to create new statistical methods, or to use existing methods to help other scientists and professional men to improve their research; or to acquire new knowledge through planned research about materials and about man; or to improve efficiency, uniformity, quality service, and performance of product; or to achieve smoother operation and more effective administration and management in industry and government."

Form of Award

The awardee will give the Deming Lecture (an invited paper) at the Joint Statistical Meetings and receive a $1,000 honorarium, an award plaque, and travel expenses.

Important Dates

Nominations are due by November 15 each year. The award and lecture is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings the following year.


The procedure for nominating an individual for the Deming Lecturer Award is as follows:

  • Download the one-page nomination form
  • Fill in the summary material requested and return the completed form along with a current CV to the ASA office at or via mail to 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, attention Award Nominations.
  • Once a short list of prospective Deming lecturers has been compiled, you will be advised of whether your nominee is on this list. If so, you may be invited to provide more information.

Current Winner

2015: William Q. Meeker, Iowa State University, "Reliability: The Other Dimension of Quality"

For specific questions about the Deming Lecturer Award, contact the committee chair.

Past Winners

2014: Sharon Lohr, Westat
2013: Vijay Nair, University of Michigan, "Industrial Statistics: Research vs. Practice"
2012: C.F. Jeff Wu, Georgia Institute of Technology, "Quality Improvement: From Autos and Chips to Nano and Bio"
2011: Roger W. Hoerl, GE Global Research, "The World is Calling: Should We Answer
2010: Brent C. James, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, "Better: Dr. Deming Consults on Quality for Sir William Osler"
2009: J. Stuart Hunter, Princeton University, "Deming Today"
2008: Donald M. Berwick, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, "Inference and Improvement in Health Care"
2007: Douglas C. Montgomery, Arizona State University, “A Modern Framework for Enterprise Excellence"
2006: Ronald D. Snee, Tunnell Consulting, "Making Another World: a Holistic Approach to Performance Improvement"
2005: A. Blanton Godfrey, North Carolina State University, "Statistics, Quality, and Organizational Excellence"
2004: Colin Mallows, Avaya Laboratories, "Deming and Bell Labs"
2003: Wayne Fuller, Iowa State University, "Deming and Survey Sampling"
2002: Sir David Cox, "Current Problems and Challenges Facing Statistics"
2001: Gerald J. Hahn, GE Retiree and Consultant, "The Proactive Statistician"
2000: George Box, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin, "Statistics for Discovery"
1999: Kenneth Prewitt, Director of the U.S. Census Bureau, "Census 2000 - Political Questions, Scientific Answers"
1998: Myron Tribus, Exergy Inc., "The Contributions of W. Edwards Deming to the Improvement of Eduction"
1997: Noriaki Kano, Science University of Tokyo, "Business Strategies for the 21st Century and Attractive Quality Creation"
1996: Brian L. Joiner, Joiner Associates, Inc., "Dr. Deming was a Statistician and Ghandi was a Lawyer"