Awards & Recognition > Awards and Scholarships

W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting

Ronald Snee

2013 W. J. Dixon Award Winner

Ronald Snee, Snee Associates, LLC

For advancing the science and art of statistical consulting with an outstanding record of leadership in process and organizational improvement in a variety of industries, ground-breaking research in the development of statistical methods, conceptualizing the term "statistical engineering," and introducing the design of the first company-wide continuous quality improvement initiative.

The Award

The award recipient receives a certificate and $500 check.

Each recipient receives an engraved award and a cash prize that are presented at the awards ceremony during the Joint Statistical Meetings. The current amount of the cash prize is $500. The award is given every year on the recommendation of the nominating committee.


The award is given to a distinguished individual who has demonstrated excellence in statistical consulting or developed and contributed new methods, software, or ways of thinking that improve statistical practice in general.

Nomination and Award Dates

Nominations are due March 15 each year. The award is presented during the Joint Statistical Meetings in August of the same year.

Responsibilities of the Award Recipient

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and certificate.

How to Submit a Nomination

Please send the completed nomination form, along with a CV and nomination letter in support of the nominee, via email to or mail to the American Statistical Association, ATTN: Award Nominations, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.

If you have questions, please email the committee chair.

Past Winners

2012: Gary Grove Koch, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for outstanding contributions to the development and review of pharmaceutical licensing applications, to the research on and software development of categorical data analysis, and for advancing the science and art of statistical consulting.
2011: Michael H. Kutner, Emory University Rollins School of Public Heath, in recognition of his long and distinguished career as a collaborative biostatistician, his contributions to instruction in applied linear models, and his widespread influence and advocacy for high standards in statistical applications in the medical sciences.
2010: Dallas E. Johnson, Kansas State University, for outstanding contributions to advancing the science and art of statistical consulting.
2009: Doug Zahn, of Zahn & Associates, for his outstanding contributions to advancing the science and art of statistical consulting.