American Statistical Association, San Antonio Chapter: June 2004 Newsletter



San Antonio ASA Chapter Newsletter

June 2004, Vol 17, No. 4



*** Bob Mason to Speak at June Chapter Banquet Meeting ***

We will hold a meeting of all chapter members and any and all guests at the Alamo Café, 10060 IH-10 West (between Huebner and Wurzbach, just Southeast of USAA), 7PM, Tuesday June 29, 2004. After an exquisitely brief business meeting at which the nominees for next year's chapter officers will be introduced, Bob Mason, the only San Antonio chapter member to ever serve as the national ASA president, will speak on the future of statistics and will include a portion of his Presidential Address given at the 2003 Joint Statistical Meetings and some "inside word" on what it's like to be the ASA president. His talk will be non-technical but principally aimed at people interested in the profession of statistics. For $8 per member and $11 per non-member each attendee will be provided tostada chips & salsa, tortillas, and tea, soft drink, or coffee plus 1 selection of the following entrees:

  • Fiesta platter - beef cheese or chicken enchilada, crispy beef taco, bean & cheese chalupa, tostada con Queso, rice and beans
  • Fajita ensalada - mixed greens topped with charbroiled beef or chicken, American and Monterey Jack cheese, tomatoes, and guacamole
  • Soup & Taco - chicken broth with tomatoes, onions, cilantro, Monterrey Jack cheese, sour cream, avocado slices, and beef or chicken fajita taco
  • Chicken fried steak with cream gravy, fries, and green beans

Non-members can join on the spot ($10 per year dues, $2 for students) to get the member discount.

Reservations and menu selection (or any special e.g. vegetarian orders) requested in advance @ or 567-6715 (24-hour voice mail).

*** Call for San Antonio ASA Chapter Officer Nominations ***

The Chapter is taking nominations for the offices of President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer for one-year terms beginning July 1, 2004. Also needed are nominations for the position of Council of Texas Statisticians (COTS) Representative for a two-year term beginning July 1, 2004 and for the position of Council of Chapters (COC) Representative for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2005. All persons nominated for an office are required to be current San Antonio Chapter members. Those nominated for President, Secretary and ASA Council of Chapters Representative are required to also hold membership in the national ASA organization.

Please contact Ken Williams at or 567-6715 no later than Friday, June 18, 2004 if you wish to recommend a colleague or express your own willingness to serve.

*** Wayne Woodward Wins 2004 Don Owen Award ***

The 2004 Don Owen Award was presented to Wayne Woodward, PhD, Professor in the Department of Statistical Science at Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX. Dr. Woodward was chosen as best exemplifying the Award's threefold criteria of excellent scholarship, dissemination of statistical knowledge, and service to the profession. Please visit the ASA website to view a photo and the complete article. To read about previous winners visit the San Antonio Chapter website.

The Don Owen Award is presented annually by the San Antonio Chapter of the American Statistical Association and the Dekker Foundation. The 2004 awards committee members were Janet Buckingham, Principal Analyst, and Robert L. Mason, PhD, Institute Analyst, both from the Southwest Research Institute; Billy Jackson and Joel Michalek, PhD, both from the Air Force Research Laboratory at Brooks City-Base; and Joseph F. Lucke, PhD, Statistical Scientist for the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and Vice-President of the San Antonio Chapter of the ASA. The Don Owen Award was presented to Dr. Woodward by Dr. Lucke at the banquet ceremony of the 2004 Conference of Texas Statisticians held at Stephen F. Austin University in Nacogdoches, Texas.

*** COTS 2004 Report ***

Shuko Lee, Joe Lucke, Carolyn Oakley, and Ken Williams from the San Antonio Chapter attended the annual Conference of Texas Statisticians at Stephen F Austin University in Nacogdoches March 26-27, 2004. They enjoyed a varied and stimulating program which included statistical analyses relating to brain imaging, student evaluation, spatial auto-logistic regression, Bayesian prediction, Bayesian variable selection, variability structure, regression in chemometrics, active learning pedagogy, diverging moments, Bayesian model averaging, and a new class of non-stationary processes called -Linear Chirp. They also enjoyed the social interactions with fellow statisticians from across Texas to include the far Eastern part of Texas known as Louisiana. In short, a good time was had by all.

*** Intel Science Fair ***

The San Antonio Chapter of the American Statistical Association presented a special award at a science fair held at DeZavala Elementary School. The science fair was sponsored by the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) Outreach Program. The program is an effort to involve minority and under-represented students in science and science competitions. Chapter members Howard Monroe and Ken Williams served as judges. Certificates were presented to first, second, third, and fourth place winners for outstanding data analysis and presentation in their science fair projects. The winning students and their projects are as follows:

*** Job Opening ***

A SAS programmer position is currently available in San Antonio at Ilex Oncology. Visit the the company's website for more information.


San Antonio ASA Chapter Officers 2003-2004:

President:Ken Williams
University of Texas Health Science Center
Epidemiology/ Dept. of Medicine (# 7873)
7703 Floyd Curl
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
(210) 567-6715 voice
(210) 567-6955 fax

Vice-President: Joseph F. Lucke
School of Nursing
University of Texas Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
(210) 567-0474 voice
(210) 567-5822 fax

Secretary: Norma Ketchum
15626 Geronimo Loop
San Antonio, TX 78254
(210) 536-3442 voice
(210) 536-3567 fax

Treasurer: Carolyn Oakley
1418 Blackbridge
San Antonio, TX 78253-6036
(210) 295-8632 voice
(210) 221-9119 fax (office) (home)

COC Rep (2002-2004): John Cornell
7400 Merton Minter Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78284
(210) 617-5300 ext 6915 voice

***End of newsletter*******

Last Update: June 17, 2004