Committees > Committee Details

ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy

Visit the ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy home page

Charge:

    Inform Congress, the public, and others on climate change science. The committee shall meet this charge by regular contact - including materials - with Congressional staff and federal employees on the science of climate change and its impacts. It will seek requests from congressional staff for statisticians’ perspective on aspects of the science of climate change and its impacts. The committee will collaborate with scientists from other disciplines on this charge through contact with other professional societies and science organizations. The committee will also relate its experiences to ASA membership so that other statisticians might benefit from the committee’s study of how statisticians can inform Congress and the public.

    Composition: The committee has nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One of the members is also chosen (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair. The ASA director of science policy will serve as staff liaison for the committee.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Bruno Sanso


Membership

The ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy has 9 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Sanso, Bruno
University of California At Santa Cruz
Applied Mathematics and Statistics
1156 High Street, Mail Stop: SOE2
Santa Cruz, CA   95064
United States
Phone: (831) 459-1484
bruno@ams.ucsc.edu
Chair (2014 - 2015)
Haran, Murali
Penn State University
326 Thomas Bldg
Dept of Statistics
University Park, PA   16802-2111
United States
mharan@stat.psu.edu
Vice-Chair (2012 - 2014)
Braverman, Amy J.
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Mail Stop 306-463
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA   91109-8099
United States
Phone: (818) 354-6168
Fax: (818) 393-6141
amy.braverman@jpl.nasa.gov
Member (2011 - 2014)
Cooley, Daniel S.
Colorado State University
Department of Statistics
Campus Route 1877
Fort Collins, CO   80523-1877
United States
Phone: (970) 491-5721
Fax: (970) 491-7895
cooleyd@stat.colostate.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Craigmile, Peter
The Ohio State University
404 Cockins Hall
1958 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH   43210
United States
Phone: (614) 292-2866
pfc@stat.osu.edu
Member (2011 - 2016)
Cressie, Noel A.
University of Wollongong
NIASRA, School of Math Appl Stat
Wollongong NSW 2522,   
Australia
Phone: +61 2 4221 5168
Fax: +61 2
ncressie@uow.edu.au
Member (2012 - 2017)
Haran, Murali
Penn State University
326 Thomas Bldg
Dept of Statistics
University Park, PA   16802-2111
United States
mharan@stat.psu.edu
Member (2011 - 2014)
Paciorek, Christopher J.
paciorek@alumni.cmu.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Sanso, Bruno
University of California At Santa Cruz
Applied Mathematics and Statistics
1156 High Street, Mail Stop: SOE2
Santa Cruz, CA   95064
United States
Phone: (831) 459-1484
bruno@ams.ucsc.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Smith, Leonard
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London,    WC2A 2AE
United Kingdom
Phone: 0044 20 7955 6015
Fax: 0044 20 7955 7416
l.grove@lse.ac.uk
Member (2011 - 2016)
Stein, Michael L.
University of Chicago
Department of Statistics
5734 University Ave.
Chicago, IL   60637-1514
United States
Phone: (773) 702-8326
Fax: (773) 702-9810
stein@galton.uchicago.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Gardner, Martha M.
General Electric
4031 Buckingham Dr
Schenectady, NY   12304-2472
United States
Phone: (518) 387-6546
martha.gardner@ge.com
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2014 - 2014
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Lenth, Russell V.
University of Iowa
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2009 - 2014
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!