If you are reading this message, then your current internet browser is outdated. Your browser is old and does not recognize the code used to create this site correctly or does not recognize it at all. It is recommended that you take the time to upgrade to the latest version of any of the following browsers: Internet Explorer, Netscape, Mozilla Firefox, or Safari (Mac users), just to name a few.

Program > Overview


View Plenary Session Webcasts


View Program

2008 Joint Statistical Meetings Program Committee


Russell V. Lenth JSM Program Chair
Russell V. Lenth
Department of Statistics & Actuarial Sciences
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 335-0814
Email: RussJSM@stat.uiowa.edu
Andrew B. Lawson Section on Statistics and the Environment, ASA
Andrew B. Lawson
University of South Carolina
Arnold School of Public Health
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Columbia, SC 29208-0001
Phone: (803) 777-6647
Email: alawson@gwm.sc.edu
       
Robert Johnson

International Biometric Society (ENAR)
Robert Johnson
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Biostatistics
Theater Row, 730 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23298-0032
Phone: (804) 827-2036
Email: RJohnson@vcu.edu

William E. Barlow Section on Epidemiology, ASA
William E. Barlow
Cancer Research and Biostatistics
1730 Minor Avenue, Suite 1900
Seattle, WA 98101-1498
Phone: (206) 839-1761
Email: williamb@crab.org
       
International Biometric Society (WNAR)
Gang Li
UCLA School of Public Health
51-253B CHS
Los Angles, CA 90095-1772
Phone: (310)-206-5865
Email: vli@ucla.edu
Michael E. Davern Section on Government Statistics, ASA
Michael E. Davern
State Health Access Data Assistance Center
2221 University Avenue SE, Suite 345
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3063
Phone: (612) 625-4835
Email: daver004@umn.edu
       
Josee Dupuis Institute of Mathematical Statistics (Invited)
Josee Dupuis
Boston University
Talbot, T414E
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 638-5880
Email: dupuis@bu.edu
David R. Hunter Section on Statistical Graphics, ASA
David R. Hunter
The Pennsylvania State University
Department of Statistics
310 Thomas Building
University Park, PA 16802-2111
Phone: (814) 863-0979
Email: dhunter@stat.psu.edu
       
Eric D. Kolaczyk Institute of Mathematical Statistics (Contributed)
Eric D. Kolaczyk
Boston University
111 Cummington Street
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617)353-5208
Email: kolaczyk@math.bu.edu
Anirban Basu Section on Health Policy Statistics, ASA
Anirban Basu
University of Chicago
Section of General Internal Medicine, MC 2007
5841 South Maryland Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: (773) 834-1796
Email: abasu@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
       
Denis Larocque Statistical Society of Canada (SSC)
Denis Larocque
HEC Montreal
Department of Management Sciences
3000, chemin de la Cote-Sainte-Catherine
Montreal (Quebec) Canada H3T 2A7
Phone: (514) 340-6488
E-mail: denis.larocque@hec.ca
Stan Lipovetsky Section on Statistics in Marketing, ASA
Stan Lipovetsky
GfK Custom Research North America
8401 Golden Valley Road
P.O. Box 27900
Minneapolis, MN 55427-0900
Phone: (763) 417-4509
Email: stan.lipovetsky@gfk.com
       
Yisheng Li Council of Chapters, ASA
Yisheng Li
University of Texas MD Anderson
1515 Holcombe Blvd Unit 447
Houston, TX 77030-4009
Phone: (713) 563-4267
Email: Ysli@mdanderson.org
Robert J. Serfling Section on Nonparametric Statistics, ASA
Robert J. Serfling
The University of Texas at Dallas
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Richardson, TX 75083
Phone: (972) 883-2361
Email: serfling@utdallas.edu
       
Patrick J. Cantwell Committee on Committees, ASA
Patrick J. Cantwell
U.S. Census Bureau
14603 Colonels Choice
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772-2884
Phone: (301) 763-4982
Email: patrick.j.cantwell@census.gov
Randall D. Tobias Section on Physical & Engineering Sciences, ASA
Randall D. Tobias
SAS Institute, Inc.
SAS Campus Drive
Cary, NC 27513
Phone: (919) 531-7933
Email: randy.tobias@sas.com
       
Mary K. Batcher General Methodology, ASA
Mary K. Batcher
Ernst & Young
1225 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 327-6773
Email: mary.batcher@ey.com
James D. Williams Section on Quality & Productivity, ASA
James D. Williams
GE Global Research
1 Research Circle, K1-5A-61
Niskayuna, NY 12309
Phone: (518) 387-7322
Email: james.williams@research.ge.com
       
Dale Zimmerman General Methodology, ASA
Dale Zimmerman
University of Iowa
2141 Brown Deer Road
Coralville, IA 52241
Phone: (319) 335-0818
Email: dzimmer@stat.uiowa.edu
Susan Simmons Section on Risk Analysis, ASA
Susan Simmons
University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
601 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone: (910) 962-3296
Email: simmonssj@uncw.edu
       
John Castelloe Invited and Contributed Posters
John Castelloe
SAS Institute, Inc.
SAS Campus Drive
Cary, NC 27513
Phone: (919) 531-5728
Email: john.castelloe@sas.com
Jana L. Asher Social Statistics Section, ASA
Jana Asher
1111 Jackson Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912
Phone: (301) 920-0068
Email: jana@asher-resnick.us
       
David A. van Dyk Section on Bayesian Statistics, ASA
David A. van Dyk
University of California, Irvine
Department of Statistics
346 B Infor and Computer Science Bldg One
Irvine, CA 92697-1250
Phone: (949) 824-5679
Email: dvd@ics.uci.edu
Michael J. Schell Section on Statistics in Sports, ASA
Michael J. Schell
University of South Florida
Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
MRC-2062A
Tampa, FL 33612
Phone: (813) 745-6061
Email: schellmj@moffitt.usf.edu
       
Debashis Ghosh Biometrics Section, ASA
Debashis Ghosh
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Statistics and Huck Institute of Life Sciences 514A Wartik Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 863-9886
Fax:
(814) 863-7114
Email:
ghoshd@psu.edu
David A. Marker Section on Survey Research Methods, ASA
David A. Marker
Westat
1650 Research Boulevard
Rockville, MD 20850-3195
Phone: (301) 251-4398
Email: davidmarker@westat.com.
       
Kalyan Ghosh Biopharmaceutical Section, ASA
Kalyan Ghosh
Vislation
191 Daylesford Blvd.
Berwyn, PA 19312
Phone: (484) 505-6891
Email: kalyan.ghosh@vislation.com
Jodi Lapidus Section on Teaching Statistics in the Health Sciences, ASA
Jodi Lapidus
Oregon Health & Science University
Department of Public Health & PM
3181 SW Sam Jackson Pk Rd, CB-669
Portland, OR 97239
Phone: (503) 494-8257
Email: lapidusj@ohsu.edu
       
Clifford M. Hurvich Business & Economic Statistics Section, ASA
Clifford M. Hurvich
New York University, Stern School of Business
100 Bleeker Street, #2B
New York, NY 10012-2202
Phone: (212) 998-0449
Email: churvich@stern.nyu.edu
 


ASA Meetings Department Contacts:

Kathleen Wert, Meetings Planner
Phone: (703) 684-1221 ext. 1874 Email: kathleen@amstat.org

Donna Arrington, Meetings Planner
Phone: (703) 684-1221 ext. 1873 Email: donna@amstat.org

Registration Questions:
Toll-free:
(888) 231-3473 Fax: (703) 684-2037
Email: jsm@amstat.org
     
Wolfgang Jank Statistical Computing Section, ASA
Wolfgang Jank
University of Maryland
Smith School of Business
4322 Van Munching Hall
College Park, MD 20742-1815
Phone: (301) 405-1118
Email: wjank@rhsmith.umd.edu
   
James Grady Section on Statistical Consulting, ASA
James Grady
University Texas Medical Branch
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550-1148
Phone: (409) 772-5276
Email: jgrady@utmb.edu
   
David J. Marchette

Section on Statistics in Defense and
National Security, ASA

David J. Marchette
Naval Surface Warfare Center
17320 Dahlgren Road, Building 111, Room 128
Dahlgren, VA 22448
Phone: (540) 653-2736
Email: dmarchette@gmail.com

   
Jackie Miller Section on Statistical Education, ASA
Jackie Miller
The Ohio State University
404 Cockins Hall, 1958 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 688-4546
Email: jbm@stat.ohio-state.edu

 

Key Dates

  • August 2 – 7, 2008
    Onsite registration (increased fees apply)
  • August 15, 2008 - Online submission of JSM Proceedings will open.

  • October, 27, 2008 - JSM Proceedings online submissions and editing will close.