Christine Franklin Wins 2006 Mu Sigma Rho Award

Christine Franklin (left) of The University of Georgia and Mu Sigma Rho President Marcia Gumpertz of North Carolina State University

Mu Sigma Rho, the National Honor Society for Statistics, presented its 7th Statistical Education Award to Christine Franklin of The University of Georgia at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Seattle in August 2006. This award recognizes excellence in undergraduate or graduate statistical education at the institutional, regional, or national level.

This award is one of many that Ms. Franklin has received for her excellence in teaching and mentoring. She has been a past recipient of the University of Georgia’s Outstanding Faculty Academic Advisor and Sandy Beaver Outstanding Teacher Awards and has, on three separate occasions, been designated a Lothar Tresp Outstanding Honors Professor. Christine has written more than 30 research articles and resource materials for other textbooks and has given more than 30 invited talks on statistics education at the K-12 and undergraduate levels. She has assiduously promoted AP statistics and is active on national committees dealing with statistics education. In 2004, Christine was named a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Mu Sigma Rho is proud to recognize Ms. Franklin for her dedication to statistics education at all levels.

Mu Sigma Rho would like to invite academic institutions to nominate their outstanding teaching faculty for the 2007 Mu Sigma Rho Statistical Education Award. The recipient must have evidence of excellence in classroom teaching in the statistics discipline and must have a lifetime devotion to statistics education. Each academic institution is allowed one nomination per year. In the event that more than one nomination is received from a single institution in a year, only the first will be considered. Any college or institution may nominate a potential recipient regardless of whether the institution has an active Mu Sigma Rho chapter. Each nomination should include a cover letter, the nominee's curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee's teaching and educational activities, and at least three letters supporting the nomination. At least two of these letters should come from present or former students and at least one letter should come from a colleague of the nominee. The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2007 award is April 1, 2007. In the event that a nominee is not selected for the 2007 award, the nomination will remain active for three years after the initial submission, unless the institution chooses to put forward another nominee.

Nomination materials should be sent to Joshua M. Tebbs, 209F LeConte, Department of Statistics, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29229.

The recipient of the award will be notified on or before June 15, 2007 and will be presented a plaque at JSM in August 2007. If you have any questions regarding this award, please feel free to email Dr. Tebbs at

Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.