Section on Statistical Education
2001 Business Meeting

Allan Rossman, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm, Wednesday, August 8, 2001, at the Rockdale Room of the Atlanta Hilton. Those in attendance were:

Lee Abramson Nuclear Regulatory Commission lxa@nrc.gov
Carmen Acuna Bucknell University cacuna@bucknell.edu
Christine Anderson-Cook Virginia Tech candcook@vt.edu
Peter Bajorski Rochester Institute of Technology pxbeqa@rit.edu
Barb Barnet University of Wisconsin-Platteville barnetb@uwplatt.edu
Jeff Bay Maryville College bay@maryvillecollege.edu
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University cblumberg@winona.edu
Marjorie Bond Monmouth College mebond@monm.edu
John Boyer Kansas State University jboyer@ksu.edu
Paul Bugl University of Hartford bugl@uhamail.hartford.edu
Ann Cannon Cornell College acannon@cornellcollege.edu
Chris Carolan East Carolina University carolanc@mail.ecu.edu
Beth Chance Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo bchance@calpoly.edu
Yung-Pin Chen Smith College ypchen@neal.smith.edu
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College Gcobb@MtHolyoke.edu
John Crammer East Carolina University crammerj@mail.ecu.edu
Jackie Dietz North Carolina State University dietz@stat.ncsu.edu
Fred Djang Bristol-Myers Squibb fred.djang@bms.com
Carolyn Dobler Gustavus Adolphus College dobler@gac.edu
William Duckworth Iowa State University wmd@iastate.edu
Marlin Eby Messiah College eby@messiah.edu
Bernie Harris University of Wisconsin harris@stat.wisc.edu
Katherine Halvorsen Smith College khalvors@science.smith.edu
Brad Hartlaub Kenyon College hartlaub@kenyon.edu
Tim Hesterberg Insightful Corporation timh@insightful.com
John Holcomb Cleveland State University j.p.holcomb@csuohio.edu
Pat Humphrey Georgia Southern University phumphre@gasou.edu
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University brian.jersky@sonoma.edu
Albyn Jones Reed College jones@reed.edu
Jeff Jonkman Mississippi State University jonkman@math.msstate.edu
Joy Jordan Lawrence University joy.jordan@lawrence.edu
Terry King Northwest Missouri State tlking@mail.nwmissouri.edu
Uwe Koehn Self-employed/Univ. of Conn. uwe.koehn@uconn.edu
Larry Lesser Armstrong Atlantic State University lesserla@mail.armstrong.edu
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University rlock@stlawu.edu
Andre Michelle Lubecke Lander University alubecke@lander.edu
Frank Matejcik South Dakota School of Mines fmatejci@MSMAILGW.sdsmt.edu
Don Macnaughton MatStat donmac@matstat.com
Christopher J. Malone Kansas State University cmalone@ksu.edu
Jim Matis Texas A&M matis@stat.tamu.edu
John McKenzie Babson College mckenzie@babson.edu
Andy Mauromoustakos University of Arkansas andym@uark.edu
Jackie Miller Drury University jbmiller@drury.edu
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University moreno@jcu.edu
Lynne Nielsen Brigham Young University lynne.nielsen@byu.edu
Bill Notz Ohio State University win@stat.ohio-state.edu
Mary Parker Austin Community College parker@math.utexas.edu
Roxy Peck Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo rpeck@calpoly.edu
Teri Peterson Idaho State University peteteri@isu.edu
Chandler Pike University of Georgia cpike@stat.uga.edu
Gina Reed Gainesville College greed@gc.peachnet.edu
Paul Roback Connecticut College pjrob@conncoll.edu
Kim Robinson Clayton State kimrobinson@mail.clayton.edu
Allan Rossman Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo arossman@calpoly.edu
Dick Scheaffer University of Florida scheaffe@stat.ufl.edu
Milo Schield Augsburg College schield@augsburg.edu
Anne Sevin CBAR/HSPH asevin@sdac.harvard.edu
Tom Short Villanova University thomas.short@villanova.edu
Doug Sizemore Covenant College sizemore@covenant.edu
Kerstin Vannman Lulia University of Tech., Sweden kerstin.vannman@ies.luth.se
John Walker Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo jwalker@calpoly.edu
Joe Ward Health Careers High School joeward@alumni.utexas.net
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University  
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College weinstej@pmc.edu
Nate Wetzel University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point nwetzel@uwsp.edu
Dex Whittinghill Rowan University whittinghill@rowan.edu
Jeff Witmer Oberlin College jeff.witmer@oberlin.edu
Linda Wohlever Hathaway Brown School lwohlever@hb.edu
Peter Wollan Olmstead Medical Center wollan@mayo.edu
Steve Zayac Ford Motor Company szayac@alum.mit.edu
  1. Introductions and Congratulations

    Allan Rossman, Section Chair, introduced Roxy Peck, past Chair, Jeff Witmer, Chair-elect, and Carolyn Dobler, Secretary-Treasurer. He congratulated the newly elected officers: Joan Garfield, 2002 Chair-elect, Roger Johnson, Publications Officer, and newly elected Executive Committee members, Brian Jersky and Jackie Miller. Those in attendance introduced themselves.

    Ron Wasserstein presented the Section's Best Contributed Paper Award for 2000 to Christine Anderson-Cook of Virginia Tech. Her graduate student will also receive a plaque. Allan thanked Ron from the Section for coordinating this award and for all his hard work.

    Allan congratulated newly elected ASA Fellow Joan Garfield.

  2. Minutes and Treasurer's Report

    The minutes of the 2000 business meeting of the Statistical Education Section were distributed. Milo Schield was omitted from the list. The minutes were approved with this correction.

    The May 31, 2001, financial statement showed a balance of $13,369.13 in the treasury. The section began the year with a balance of $12,213.60. Income from dues, proceedings, interest, and royalties totaled $2,004.69. Expenses for the newsletter, food functions, awards, and office expenses came to $849.16. The net surplus was $1,155.53. The treasurer's report was accepted.

  3. Program Chairs Reports

    Jim Matis, 2001 Program Chair, reported that the Section sponsored three invited sessions, one invited session by competition, two invited sessions co-sponsored with outside organizations, one invited session co-sponsored with another ASA committee, six topic contributed paper sessions, and three regular contributed paper sessions.

    John Holcomb, 2002 Program Chair, reported on the Roundtable Luncheons and on next year's tentative program. There will be three invited sessions (a degree in Statistics Education, introduction of six-sigma into the undergraduate and graduate curriculum, and instructors doing research in their own classrooms). John asked for ideas for topic contributed paper sessions, with ideas to him by February 1. John McKenzie asked if there was an alternative way to conduct roundtables so that they would not be so expensive.

    Jeff Witmer announced the 2003 Program Chair will be Andre Lubecke. Andre asked the membership for suggestions for 2003 invited sessions and 2002 roundtables. There is some concern among the Section members with having only one session for roundtables and the conflict with attending roundtables focused on research versus education. Jim Matis mentioned that the deadlines keep moving up. What can be done about this?

  4. Council of Sections Report

    John Boyer, Section representative, reported on the improvement in section websites on the ASA website. He encouraged members to check the website to assure that names and addresses are correct. This year is the first time that the Proceedings will be offered on CD for $25. He asked if the Section viewed the Proceedings as a money-making venture or a member service (to keep costs low). The consensus was that the Proceedings are a member service. John then asked about the timing of the issuance of the Proceedings. Currently, papers are due by October 1, and the CD is anticipated to be in the mail by mid-December. He reported that there has been discussion of having the papers due June 1, with the CD distributed at the meetings. He also reported that the income to each Section is based on the number of papers contributed.

  5. Chair's Report

    Allan reported on ASA's four member initiatives for teacher enhancement. Allan also reported the Executive Committee voted for the Section to become an institutional member of IASE and to provide $2000 to support ICOTS in South Africa in 2002. He also mentioned other projects: RAND focus group on K-12, the W. M. Keck Statistical Literacy Project, the American Psychology Society project, and the Waller award. The Executive Committee created two new subcommittees, one on the Section Charter and one for improving Section Membership. He also mentioned that section news and activities are reported in an Amstat News column. By the end of the year, we should be able to send email to the entire Section membership.

  6. New Business

    Jerry Moreno asked if we could poll the Section concerning a Section Conference on Statistics Education. Jerry also mentioned that K-12 motivation comes through assessment and that can only be provided by quality questions.

  7. Announcements

    Allan thanked Jackie Dietz for maintaining the Section's webpage. Any suggestions or comments should be sent to Jackie.

    Jackie Miller announced the Project NeXT fellow program, an MAA project for young faculty members. This program is also available to young statisticians, and Jackie encouraged participation.

    Dex Whittinghill announced the new MAA SIGMAA in Statistics Education.

    John McKenzie announced the NEISM one day meeting to be held September 22.

    Joe Ward made an appeal for members to consider being science fair judges for international science fairs.

    Terry King made a request for newsletter ideas. Allan thanked Terry for all his hard work on the Section newsletter.

  8. Thanks

    Allan thanked the retiring officers: Roxy Peck, Jessica Utts, John Boyer, Beth Chance, Katherine Halvorsen, and Jim Matis.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:56.

Respectfully submitted,
Carolyn Pillers Dobler
Secretary-Treasurer


Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.