Section on Statistical Education
2003 Business Meeting

Joan Garfield, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:34 pm., Wednesday, August 6, 2003 at the Union Square Rooms 1 and 2, Hilton Hotel, San Francisco. Those in attendance were:

Lee Abramson U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission lxa@nrc.gov
Carmen Acuna Bucknell University cacuna@bucknell.edu
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University cblumberg@winona.edu
Marjorie Bond Monmouth College mebond@monm.edu
John Boyer Kansas State University jboyer@ksu.edu
Ann Cannon Cornell College acannon@cornellcollege.edu
Matt Carlton Cal Poly mcarlton@calpoly.edu
Rob Carver Stonehill College rcarver@stonehill.edu
Beth Chance Cal Poly bchance@calpoly.edu
Sandi Clarkson Hunter College sandra.clarkson@hunter.cuny.edu
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College gcobb@mtholyoke.edu
Carolyn Cuff Westminster College (PA) ccuff@westminster.edu
Bob delMas University of Minnesota delma001@umn.edu
Jackie Dietz North Carolina State University dietz@stat.ncsu.edu
Michele DiPietro Carnegie Mellon University dipietro@andrew.cmu.edu
Carolyn Dobler Gustavus Adolphus College dobler@gac.edu
Diane Evans Rose-Hulman Inst of Tech diane.evans@rose-hulman.edu
Dave Fluherty ASA dave.fluherty@usa.contineves.com
Christine Franklin University of Georgia chris@stat.uga.edu
Joan Garfield University of Minnesota jbg@umn.edu
Robert Gould UCLA rgould@ucla.edu
Katherine Halvorsen Smith College khalvors@science.smith.edu
John Holcomb Cleveland State University j.p.holcomb@csuohio.edu
Nicholas Horton Smith College nhorton@smith.edu
Estie Hudis University of California-SF ehudes@psg.ucsf.edu
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University brian.jersky@sonoma.edu
Roger Johnson South Dakota School of Mines & Tech Roger.Johnson@sdsmt.edu
Albyn Jones Reed College jones@reed.edu
Joy Jordan Lawrence University joy.jordan@lawrence.edu
Terry King Northwest Missouri State tlking@mail.nwmissouri.edu
Shonda Kuiper Grinnell College kuipers@grinnell.edu
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University rlock@stlawu.edu
André Michelle Lubecke Lander University alubecke@lander.edu
Debby Lurie Saint Joseph's University lune@sju.edu
Edd Mansfield University of Alabama emansfie@cba.ua.edu
Don Macnaughton MatStat donmac@matstat.com
Frank J. Matejcik South Dakota School of Mines & Tech frank.matejcik@sdsmt.edu
Karen McGaughey Cal Poly kjmcgoy@ksu.edu
John McKenzie Babson College mckenzie@babson.edu
Christine McLaren UC-Irvine cmclaren@uci.edu
Oded Meyer Carnegie Mellon University meyer@stat.cmu.edu
Weiwen Miao Macalester College miao@macalester.edu
Jackie Miller The Ohio State University miller.203@osu.edu
David Moore Purdue University dsmoore@stat.purdue.edu
Tom Moore Grinnell College mooret@grinnell.edu
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University moreno@jcu.edu
June Morita University of Washington june@stat.washington.edu
Janet Myhre Claremont College marcmcth@aol.com
Mary Parker Austin Community College parker@math.utexas.edu
Roxy Peck Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo rpeck@calpoly.edu
Rosemary Roberts Bowdoin College rroberts@bowdoin.edu
Kim Robinson Clayton College (GA) kimrobinson@mail.clayton.edu
Neal Rogness Grand Valley State U. rognessn@gvsu.edu
Allan Rossman Cal Poly arossman@calpoly.edu
Ginger Holmes Rowell Middle Tennessee State University rowell@mtsu.edu
Milo Schield Augsburg College schield@augsburg.edu
Norean Sharpe Babson College sharpen@babson.edu
Tom Short Indiana University of Pennsylvania tshort@iup.edu
Bob Stephenson Iowa State University wrstephe@iastate.edu
John Walker Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo jwalker@calpoly.edu
Steve Wang Swarthmore College scwang@swarthmore.edu
Joe Ward Health Careers High School joeward@alumni.utexas.net
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University ron.wasserstein@washburn.edu
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College weinstej@pmc.edu
Dex Whittinghill Rowan University whittinghill@rowan.edu
Jeff Witmer Oberlin College jeff.witmer@oberlin.edu
Linda Young University of Florida lyoung@biostat.ufl.edu
Marilyn Zayac Zayac Associate Services mzayzc@alum.mit.edu
Steve Zayac Zayac Associate Services szayac@alum.mit.edu
William Zhang University of Northern BC wzhang@unbc.ca
  1. Introductions

    Joan Garfield, Section Chair, introduced the Section officers.

  2. Election Results

    Joan Garfield, Section Chair, announced the election results: Robin Lock, 2004 Chair Elect; Beth Chance, Secretary/Treasury (2004-2006); Marjorie Bond and Michael Kahn, Executive Committee (2004-2006).

  3. Minutes and Treasurer's Report (Carolyn Pillers Dobler)

    The minutes of the 2002 business meeting were distributed. Carolyn Dobler, treasurer, reported that the Section is financially healthy.

  4. Reports

    Roger Johnson, Publications Officer, asked for suggestions for future Amstat News articles.

    André Lubecke, 2003 Program Chair, thanked all who contributed to this year's program and welcomed any comments and suggestions. She announced tomorrow's sessions and encouraged topic contributed paper sessions in future meetings.

    Dex Whittinghill, 2004 Program Chair, encouraged topic contributed paper sessions for 2004 JSM. This year, there were seven luncheon roundtables held, although there were also three that were cancelled due to low enrollment. There will be three invited sessions at 2004 JSM: TEAMS, CAUSEweb, and a session chaired by Joan Garfield, as well as an invited session co-sponsored with IASE on training of government statisticians. Ron Wasserstein, 2004 Section Chair, announced that the 2005 Program Chair will be Karen McGaughey, Cal Poly.

    Katherine Halvorson, Council of Sections representative, reported that Continuing Education suggestions for Stat Ed were discussed, although they are too expensive for most Stat Ed members to attend.

    Linda Young, ENAR, reported on co-sponsorship of one invited session on the pipeline and one topic contributed paper session on graduate student training.

    Joan Garfield, Section Chair, gave the Chair's Report. At the Executive Committee meeting, funding was approved for AV equipment for the Isolated Statisticians when such equipment is needed. The Committee approved $3,000 for the TEAMS conference. The Committee approved funding of nonmember registration fees in topic contributed paper sessions subject to up to six people for one day registration fee and only one nonmember per session. She encouraged early registration for roundtables to avoid the cancellation problem encountered this year.

    Jerry Moreno announced ASA Founders Awards went to Jim Matis and Roxy Peck, Section members.

    Robin Lock announced two Section members who were named ASA Fellows: Lee Abrahamson and Ron Wasserstein.

    Bob Stephenson announced that Beth Chance received the Outstanding Teaching award from Mu Sigma Rho.

  5. Best Contributed Paper for 2002

    Ron Wasserstein announced that the Best Contributed Paper for 2002 recipient was Oded Meyer. Oded acknowledged his co-author, Marcia Leggett. Joan Garfield, Program Chair, thanked Ron for coordinating this award.

  6. Waller Award

    Jeff Witmer presented the Waller Award to John Holcomb. John thanked the selection committee, as well as Brad Hartlaub, Tom Short, Allan Rossman, and Beth Chance. John said he was "completely humbled" on receiving the award.

  7. New Business

    Newsletter. We are trying to move toward an electronic only newsletter. Brian Jersky is the new newsletter editor.

    Mentoring. Joy Jordan is proposing a mentoring program and called for possible mentors and mentees.

    New ASA Position. Dave Fluherty announced his new ASA position in K-16 Statistics Education.

    Isolated Statisticians. Dex Whittinghill announced a brochure is being developed for the Isolated Statisticians.

    John McKenzie indicated a need to announce the Stat Ed Business meeting at all JSM Stat Ed sessions.

    Stat Ed Booth. Jerry Moreno announced that "the booth is back." Joan Garfield thanked Jerry for all his help with this project. She also thanked all the volunteers.

    Project NeXT. Jackie Miller encouraged first year teachers to be a part of Project NeXT.

    Jeff Witmer announced that the Section is supporting two ASA fellow nominations.

    Science Fair. Joe Ward inquired about Stat Ed help in supporting the International Science Fair.

  8. Thanks

    The Section express thanks to retiring officers: Jeff Witmer, Past Chair; Ann Cannon & Brad Hartlaub, Executive Committee; Carolyn Pillers Dobler, Secretary/Treasurer; and André Lubecke, Program Chair.

    The Section also expressed thanks to Terry King, Brian Jersky, and Tom Moore for their contributions to the Newsletter; Ron Wasserstein, Contributed Paper Award; Jackie Dietz, Webpage Designer; Carolyn Crockett (Duxbury) for refreshments; and the volunteers at the Stat Ed Booth.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Carolyn Pillers Dobler
Secretary-Treasurer


Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.