Section on Statistical Education
2004 Business Meeting

Ron Wasserstein, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:34 pm, Wednesday, August 11, 2004 at the Toronto Convention Center 703. Those in attendance were:

Carmen Acuna Bucknell University cacuna@bucknell.edu
Rich Alldredge Washington State University alldredg@wsu.edu
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University cblumberg@winona.edu
Marjorie Bond Monmouth College mebond@monm.edu
John Boyer Kansas State University jboyer@ksu.edu
Nancy Boyton SUNY Fredonia (NY) boynton@fredonia.edu
Gordon Brooks Ohio University brooksg@ohio.edu
Ann Cannon Cornell College acannon@cornellcollege.edu
Beth Chance Cal Poly bchance@calpoly.edu
Allison Clark AP Program aclark@collegeboard.org
Sandi Clarkson Hunter College of CUNY sandra.clarkson@hunter.cuny.edu
John Climent Cecil C.C. and AMATYC jcliment@cecilcc.edu
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College gcobb@mtholyoke.edu
Patti Collings Brigham Young University collingp@byu.edu
Carolyn Cuff Westminster College (PA) ccuff@westminster.edu
Thomas Devlin Montclair State University devlint@mail.montclair.edu
Jackie Dietz Meredith College dietzjac@meredith.edu
Marlin Eby Messiah College eby@messiah.edu
Diane Evans Rose-Hulman Inst of Tech diane.evans@rose-hulman.edu
Peter Flanagan-Hyde Phoenix Country Day School pflanaga@pcds.org
Christine Franklin University of Georgia chris@stat.uga.edu
Joan Garfield University of Minnesota jbg@umn.edu
Robert Gould UCLA rgould@ucla.edu
Katherine Halvorsen Smith College khalvors@email.smith.edu
Bernie Harris University of Wisconsin bernard_harris@yahoo.com
Brad Hartlaub Kenyon College hartlaub@kenyon.edu
Rossi Hassad Mercy College Rhassad@mercy.edu
Tim Hesterberg Insightful timh@insightful.com
John Holcomb Cleveland State University j.p.holcomb@csuohio.edu
Nicholas Horton Smith College nhorton@email.smith.edu
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University brian.jersky@sonoma.edu
Joy Jordan Lawrence University joy.jordan@lawrence.edu
Shonda Kuiper Grinnell College kuipers@grinnell.edu
Chris Lacke Rowan University lacke@rowan.edu
Margaret Land Texas A&M University, Kingsville mland@tamuk.edu
Russ Lenth University of Iowa Russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University rlock@stlawu.edu
Thomas Love Case Western Reserve University thomas.love@case.edu
André Michelle Lubecke Lander University alubecke@lander.edu
Edd Mansfield University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) emansfie@cba.ua.edu
Don Macnaughton MatStat donmac@matstat.com
Frank J. Matejcik South Dakota School of Mines fmatejci@taz.sdsmt.edu
Jim Matis Texas A&M matis@stat.tamu.edu
Karen McGaughey Cal Poly - SLO kjmcgaugh@calpoly.edu
John McKenzie Babson College mckenzie@babson.edu
Weiwen Miao Macalester College miao@macalester.edu
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University moreno@jcu.edu
Patrick Murphy University College Dublin, Ireland Patrick.Murphy@ucd.ie
Bill Notz Ohio State University win@stat.ohio-state.edu
Liam O'Brien Colby College lobrien@colby.edu
Keith Ord Georgetown University ordk@georgetown.edu
Mary Parker Austin Community College parker@math.utexas.edu
Roxy Peck Cal Poly rpeck@calpoly.edu
Paul Roback St. Olaf College roback@stolaf.edu
Allan Rossman Cal Poly arossman@calpoly.edu
Ginger Holmes Rowell Middle Tennessee State University rowell@mtsu.edu
Barbara Ryan Minitab, Inc bryan@minitab.com
Milo Schield Augsburg College schield@augsburg.edu
Michael Schuckers St. Lawrence University schuckers@stlawu.edu
Tom Short Indiana University of Pennsylvania tshort@iup.edu
Laura Simon Penn State University lsimon@stat.psu.edu
Paul Velleman Cornell University pfv2@cornell.edu
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University ron.wasserstein@washburn.edu
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College/Harvard Extension School weinstej@pmc.edu
Dex Whittinghill Rowan University whittinghill@rowan.edu
Steve Zayac Oaklandcc/Independent szayac@alum.mit.edu
William Zhang University of Northern BC wzhang@unbc.ca
  1. Introductions

    Ron introduced the Section Officers.

  2. Election Results

    Ron announced the election results: Chair-Elect 2005 (chair in 2006): Chris Franklin, Publications Officer 2005-2007: Sterling Hilton, Members of Executive committee (2005-2007): Ginger Holmes Rowell, Julie Legler

  3. Reports

  4. Stat Ed Fellows

    Chris Franklin and Tom Short were congratulated (as well as the other section members: I. Elaine Allen, Thomas R. Belin, Michael P. Cohen, Mark E. Payton). Three Founders Awards Winners (Dallas Johnson, Bill Schucany, and Ray Waller) also have ties to the section. Robin Lock was congratulated on receiving the Mu Sigma Rho award and the Section on Sports Statistics Award.
  5. Best Contributed Paper Award

    Ron presented George Cobb with the 2004 Best Contributed Paper Award for his presentation on a Discrete Monte Carlo Markov Chain undergraduate course.

  6. Waller Award (and others)

    Joan Garfield and John Holcomb presented Ginger Holmes Rowell of Middle Tennessee State University with the third Waller Education Award, established by Ray and Carolyn Waller for innovation in the instruction of introductory statistics. Ginger said receiving the award was really quite humbling and reflected on the people and events that helped her, as a mathematician, think like a statistician and encouraged her to use words instead of formulas to convey concepts. She expressed appreciation for her department chairs for giving her opportunities to be innovative, workshops like STATS, and leaders of organizations like the section. Ron expressed gratitude to Ray and Carolyn for their generosity and putting the section in charge of administering the award and mentioned that a permanent policy was put into place this year for the selection committee.

  7. New Business

  8. Thanks

    Ron thanked the executive committee members whose service is ending (Joan Garfield - past chair, Brian Jersky and Jackie Miller - executive committee, Roger Johnson - publications officer, Dex Whittinghill - program chair), Brian Jersky for editing the newsletter, Jackie Dietz for serving as web page editor, and Jerry Moreno for setting up the education booth (which will be back next year with the easy online sign up form). Jerry said the booth is a delightful experience and opportunity to talk to people and to catch up with colleagues.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Beth Chance
Secretary/Treasurer


Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.