Section on Statistical Education
2004 Business Meeting

Ron Wasserstein, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:34 pm, Wednesday, August 11, 2004 at the Toronto Convention Center 703. Those in attendance were:

Carmen Acuna Bucknell University
Rich Alldredge Washington State University
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University
Marjorie Bond Monmouth College
John Boyer Kansas State University
Nancy Boyton SUNY Fredonia (NY)
Gordon Brooks Ohio University
Ann Cannon Cornell College
Beth Chance Cal Poly
Allison Clark AP Program
Sandi Clarkson Hunter College of CUNY
John Climent Cecil C.C. and AMATYC
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College
Patti Collings Brigham Young University
Carolyn Cuff Westminster College (PA)
Thomas Devlin Montclair State University
Jackie Dietz Meredith College
Marlin Eby Messiah College
Diane Evans Rose-Hulman Inst of Tech
Peter Flanagan-Hyde Phoenix Country Day School
Christine Franklin University of Georgia
Joan Garfield University of Minnesota
Robert Gould UCLA
Katherine Halvorsen Smith College
Bernie Harris University of Wisconsin
Brad Hartlaub Kenyon College
Rossi Hassad Mercy College
Tim Hesterberg Insightful
John Holcomb Cleveland State University
Nicholas Horton Smith College
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University
Joy Jordan Lawrence University
Shonda Kuiper Grinnell College
Chris Lacke Rowan University
Margaret Land Texas A&M University, Kingsville
Russ Lenth University of Iowa
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University
Thomas Love Case Western Reserve University
André Michelle Lubecke Lander University
Edd Mansfield University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa)
Don Macnaughton MatStat
Frank J. Matejcik South Dakota School of Mines
Jim Matis Texas A&M
Karen McGaughey Cal Poly - SLO
John McKenzie Babson College
Weiwen Miao Macalester College
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University
Patrick Murphy University College Dublin, Ireland
Bill Notz Ohio State University
Liam O'Brien Colby College
Keith Ord Georgetown University
Mary Parker Austin Community College
Roxy Peck Cal Poly
Paul Roback St. Olaf College
Allan Rossman Cal Poly
Ginger Holmes Rowell Middle Tennessee State University
Barbara Ryan Minitab, Inc
Milo Schield Augsburg College
Michael Schuckers St. Lawrence University
Tom Short Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Laura Simon Penn State University
Paul Velleman Cornell University
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College/Harvard Extension School
Dex Whittinghill Rowan University
Steve Zayac Oaklandcc/Independent
William Zhang University of Northern BC
  1. Introductions

    Ron introduced the Section Officers.

  2. Election Results

    Ron announced the election results: Chair-Elect 2005 (chair in 2006): Chris Franklin, Publications Officer 2005-2007: Sterling Hilton, Members of Executive committee (2005-2007): Ginger Holmes Rowell, Julie Legler

  3. Reports

  4. Stat Ed Fellows

    Chris Franklin and Tom Short were congratulated (as well as the other section members: I. Elaine Allen, Thomas R. Belin, Michael P. Cohen, Mark E. Payton). Three Founders Awards Winners (Dallas Johnson, Bill Schucany, and Ray Waller) also have ties to the section. Robin Lock was congratulated on receiving the Mu Sigma Rho award and the Section on Sports Statistics Award.
  5. Best Contributed Paper Award

    Ron presented George Cobb with the 2004 Best Contributed Paper Award for his presentation on a Discrete Monte Carlo Markov Chain undergraduate course.

  6. Waller Award (and others)

    Joan Garfield and John Holcomb presented Ginger Holmes Rowell of Middle Tennessee State University with the third Waller Education Award, established by Ray and Carolyn Waller for innovation in the instruction of introductory statistics. Ginger said receiving the award was really quite humbling and reflected on the people and events that helped her, as a mathematician, think like a statistician and encouraged her to use words instead of formulas to convey concepts. She expressed appreciation for her department chairs for giving her opportunities to be innovative, workshops like STATS, and leaders of organizations like the section. Ron expressed gratitude to Ray and Carolyn for their generosity and putting the section in charge of administering the award and mentioned that a permanent policy was put into place this year for the selection committee.

  7. New Business

  8. Thanks

    Ron thanked the executive committee members whose service is ending (Joan Garfield - past chair, Brian Jersky and Jackie Miller - executive committee, Roger Johnson - publications officer, Dex Whittinghill - program chair), Brian Jersky for editing the newsletter, Jackie Dietz for serving as web page editor, and Jerry Moreno for setting up the education booth (which will be back next year with the easy online sign up form). Jerry said the booth is a delightful experience and opportunity to talk to people and to catch up with colleagues.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Beth Chance

Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.