Section on Statistical Education
2006 Business Meeting

Christine Franklin, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:55 pm, Wednesday, August 9, 2006 at the Seattle Convention Center, room 606. Those in attendance were:

Mark Berenson Montclair State University berensonm at
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University cblumberg at
KB Boomer Penn State boomer at
John Boyer Kansas State University jboyer at
Ann Cannon Cornell College acannon at
Matt Carlton Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo mcarlton at
Rob Carver Stonehill College rcarver at
Beth Chance Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo bchance at
Laura Chihara Carleton College lchihara at
Sandy Clarkson Hunter College sclarkso at
Rick Cleary Bentley College rcleary at
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College gcobb at
Patti B. Collings Brigham Young University collingp at
Linda Collins University of Chicago lcollins at
Carolyn Cuff Westminster College (PA) ccuff at
Bob delMas University of Minnesota delma001 at
Dick Deveaux Williams College rdeveaux at
Jackie Dietz Meredith College dietzjac at
Carolyn Pillers Dobler Gustavus Adolphus College dobler at
William Duckworth Creighton University wmd at
Marlin Eby Messiah College eby at
Peter Flanagan-Hyde Phoenix Country Day School peterfh at
Chris Franklin University of Georgia chris at
Marian Frazier Ohio State University frazier.149 at
Leonard H. Gaines SUNY-Empire State College leonard.gaines at
Joan Garfield University of Minnesota jbg at
Robert Gould UCLA rgould at
Marvin Gruber Rochester Institute of Technology mjgsma at
Nilupa Gunaratna Purdue University gunaratna at
Huizhen (Jean) Guo Xavier University guoh at
Jo Hardin Pomona College jo.hardin at
Bernard Harris University of Wisconsin bernard_harris at
Kyle Hewitt Iowa State University khewitt at
Bob Hogg University of Iowa bhogg at
John Holcomb Cleveland State University j.p.holcomb at
Bob Jernigan American University Jernigan at
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University brian.jersky at
Joy Jordan Lawrence University joy.jordan at
Kari Kastango Bristol Myers Squibb kari.kastango at
Karen Kinard Tallahassee Community College kinardk at
Shonda Kuiper Grinnell College kuipers at
Russ Lenth University of Iowa russell-length at
Larry Lesser University of Texas at El Paso Lesser at
Jeff Lidicker Temple University lidicker at
Alex Lipka Purdue University alipka at
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University rlock at
André M. Lubecke Lander University alubecke at
Don Macnaughton MatStat donmac at
Edd Mansfield University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) emansfie at
Karen McGaughey Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo/AMD kmcgaugh at
Monnie McGee Southern Methodist University mmcgee at
Christine McLaren Univ of Calif Ė Irvine cmclaren at
Weiwen Miao Macalester College miao at
Jackie Miller Ohio State University miller.203 at
Tom Moore Grinnell College mooret at
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University moreno at
June Morita University of Washington june at
Bill Notz Ohio State University win at
Mary Parker Austin Community College parker at
Roxy Peck Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo rpeck at
Paul Roback St. Olaf College roback at
Rosemary Roberts Bowdoin College rroberts at
Kim Robinson Clayton State University kimrobinson at
Allan Rossman Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo arossman at
Juana Sánchez UCLA jsanchez at
Dick Scheaffer University of Florida rls907 at
Milo Schield Augsburg College schield at
Michael Schuckers St. Lawrence University schuckers at
Norean Sharpe Babson College sharpen at
Tom Short Indiana University of Pennsylvania tshort at
Michelle Sisto Int. University of Monaco msisto at
Doug Sizemore Covenant College sizemore at
Tom Tosch Boeing tom at
Jessica Utts UC Davis jmutts at
Paul Velleman Cornell University pfv2 at
John Walker Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo jwalker at
Steve Wang Swarthmore College scwang at
Joe Ward Health Careers High School joeward at
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University ron.wasserstein at
Amy Watkins Statcom at Purdue awatkin at
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College/Harvard Extension School weinstej at
Dex Whittinghill Rowen University whittinghill at
Jeff Witmer Oberlin College jeff.witmer at
Andy Zieffler University of Minnesota zief600 at
  1. Introductions

    Chris introduced the Section Officers.

  2. Election Results

    Chris announced the election results: Chair-Elect 2007 (chair in 2008): Linda Young; Secretary/Treasurer (2007-2009): Tom Short; Executive Committee (2007-2009): Deb Rumsey and Jo Hardin.

  3. Reports

  4. Section Awards

    The new fellows (June Morita, Brad Hartlaub, Deb Rumsey, and Marcia Gumpertz), Founderís Award recipients (Jackie Dietz, Joe Ward, and John Boyer), and Mu Sigma Rho Awardee (Chris Franklin) from the section were congratulated.

  5. Best Contributed Paper Award

    The 2005 Best Contributed Paper Award was presented by Ron Wasserstein to Bob Jernigan.

  6. Waller Education Award

    Robin Lock, on behalf of committee members Tom Moore, Mike Mosier, Jackie Dietz, Ginger Rowell, and Roger Woodard, presented the Waller Education Award (given to an exemplary teacher within their first ten years and an up and coming mover and shaker in the field) to Joy Jordan.

  7. New Business

The meeting was adjourned at 6:58pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Beth Chance

Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.