Section on Statistical Education
2006 Business Meeting

Christine Franklin, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:55 pm, Wednesday, August 9, 2006 at the Seattle Convention Center, room 606. Those in attendance were:

Mark Berenson Montclair State University berensonm at mail.montclair.edu
Carol Joyce Blumberg Winona State University cblumberg at winona.edu
KB Boomer Penn State boomer at stat.psu.edu
John Boyer Kansas State University jboyer at ksu.edu
Ann Cannon Cornell College acannon at cornellcollege.edu
Matt Carlton Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo mcarlton at calpoly.edu
Rob Carver Stonehill College rcarver at stonehill.edu
Beth Chance Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo bchance at calpoly.edu
Laura Chihara Carleton College lchihara at carleton.edu
Sandy Clarkson Hunter College sclarkso at hunter.cuny.edu
Rick Cleary Bentley College rcleary at bentley.edu
George Cobb Mount Holyoke College gcobb at mtholyoke.edu
Patti B. Collings Brigham Young University collingp at byu.edu
Linda Collins University of Chicago lcollins at uchicago.edu
Carolyn Cuff Westminster College (PA) ccuff at westminster.edu
Bob delMas University of Minnesota delma001 at umn.edu
Dick Deveaux Williams College rdeveaux at williams.edu
Jackie Dietz Meredith College dietzjac at meredith.edu
Carolyn Pillers Dobler Gustavus Adolphus College dobler at gac.edu
William Duckworth Creighton University wmd at creighton.edu
Marlin Eby Messiah College eby at messiah.edu
Peter Flanagan-Hyde Phoenix Country Day School peterfh at mac.com
Chris Franklin University of Georgia chris at stat.uga.edu
Marian Frazier Ohio State University frazier.149 at osu.edu
Leonard H. Gaines SUNY-Empire State College leonard.gaines at esc.edu
Joan Garfield University of Minnesota jbg at umn.edu
Robert Gould UCLA rgould at ucla.edu
Marvin Gruber Rochester Institute of Technology mjgsma at rit.edu
Nilupa Gunaratna Purdue University gunaratna at purdue.edu
Huizhen (Jean) Guo Xavier University guoh at xavier.edu
Jo Hardin Pomona College jo.hardin at pomona.edu
Bernard Harris University of Wisconsin bernard_harris at yahoo.com
Kyle Hewitt Iowa State University khewitt at iastate.edu
Bob Hogg University of Iowa bhogg at mccoy.mail.net
John Holcomb Cleveland State University j.p.holcomb at csuohio.edu
Bob Jernigan American University Jernigan at american.edu
Brian Jersky Sonoma State University brian.jersky at sonoma.edu
Joy Jordan Lawrence University joy.jordan at lawrence.edu
Kari Kastango Bristol Myers Squibb kari.kastango at bms.com
Karen Kinard Tallahassee Community College kinardk at tcc.fl.edu
Shonda Kuiper Grinnell College kuipers at grinnell.edu
Russ Lenth University of Iowa russell-length at uiowa.edu
Larry Lesser University of Texas at El Paso Lesser at utep.edu
Jeff Lidicker Temple University lidicker at temple.edu
Alex Lipka Purdue University alipka at statpurdue.edu
Robin Lock St. Lawrence University rlock at stlawu.edu
André M. Lubecke Lander University alubecke at lander.edu
Don Macnaughton MatStat donmac at matstat.com
Edd Mansfield University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) emansfie at cba.ua.edu
Karen McGaughey Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo/AMD kmcgaugh at calpoly.edu
Monnie McGee Southern Methodist University mmcgee at smu.edu
Christine McLaren Univ of Calif Ė Irvine cmclaren at uci.edu
Weiwen Miao Macalester College miao at macalester.edu
Jackie Miller Ohio State University miller.203 at osu.edu
Tom Moore Grinnell College mooret at grinnell.edu
Jerry Moreno John Carroll University moreno at jcu.edu
June Morita University of Washington june at stat.washington.edu
Bill Notz Ohio State University win at stat.ohio-state.edu
Mary Parker Austin Community College parker at austincc.edu
Roxy Peck Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo rpeck at calpoly.edu
Paul Roback St. Olaf College roback at stolaf.edu
Rosemary Roberts Bowdoin College rroberts at bowdoin.edu
Kim Robinson Clayton State University kimrobinson at clayton.edu
Allan Rossman Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo arossman at calpoly.edu
Juana Sánchez UCLA jsanchez at stat.ucla.edu
Dick Scheaffer University of Florida rls907 at bellsouth.net
Milo Schield Augsburg College schield at augsburg.edu
Michael Schuckers St. Lawrence University schuckers at stlawu.edu
Norean Sharpe Babson College sharpen at babson.edu
Tom Short Indiana University of Pennsylvania tshort at iup.edu
Michelle Sisto Int. University of Monaco msisto at monaco.edu
Doug Sizemore Covenant College sizemore at covenant.edu
Tom Tosch Boeing tom at tosch.com
Jessica Utts UC Davis jmutts at ucdavis.edu
Paul Velleman Cornell University pfv2 at cornell.edu
John Walker Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo jwalker at calpoly.edu
Steve Wang Swarthmore College scwang at swarthmore.edu
Joe Ward Health Careers High School joeward at alumni.utexas.net
Ron Wasserstein Washburn University ron.wasserstein at washburn.edu
Amy Watkins Statcom at Purdue awatkin at purdue.edu
Joan Weinstein Pine Manor College/Harvard Extension School weinstej at pmc.edu
Dex Whittinghill Rowen University whittinghill at rowan.edu
Jeff Witmer Oberlin College jeff.witmer at oberlin.edu
Andy Zieffler University of Minnesota zief600 at umn.edu
  1. Introductions

    Chris introduced the Section Officers.

  2. Election Results

    Chris announced the election results: Chair-Elect 2007 (chair in 2008): Linda Young; Secretary/Treasurer (2007-2009): Tom Short; Executive Committee (2007-2009): Deb Rumsey and Jo Hardin.

  3. Reports

  4. Section Awards

    The new fellows (June Morita, Brad Hartlaub, Deb Rumsey, and Marcia Gumpertz), Founderís Award recipients (Jackie Dietz, Joe Ward, and John Boyer), and Mu Sigma Rho Awardee (Chris Franklin) from the section were congratulated.

  5. Best Contributed Paper Award

    The 2005 Best Contributed Paper Award was presented by Ron Wasserstein to Bob Jernigan.

  6. Waller Education Award

    Robin Lock, on behalf of committee members Tom Moore, Mike Mosier, Jackie Dietz, Ginger Rowell, and Roger Woodard, presented the Waller Education Award (given to an exemplary teacher within their first ten years and an up and coming mover and shaker in the field) to Joy Jordan.

  7. New Business

The meeting was adjourned at 6:58pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Beth Chance
Secretary/Treasurer


Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.