Section on Statistical Education
1997 Business Meeting

Jackie Dietz, Section Chair called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. on August 13, 1997. Those in attendance were:

Lee Abramson
Karla Ballman
Don Bentley
Jim Bentley
Amy Biesterfeld
Carol Joyce Blumberg
Ann Cannon
Beth Chance
George Cobb
Michael P. Cohen
Linda Brant Collins
James Davenport
Bob del Mas
Lorraine Denby
Jackie Dietz
Carolyn Dobler
Joachim Engel
Leonard M. Gaines
Joan Garfield
Debbie Garrison
Robert Goldman
Tim Hesterberg
Lisa Johnson
Albyn Jones
Margaret Land
Jim Landwehr
Betty Lawrence
Laura Lazzeroni
Robin Lock
James Love
Margaret Mackisack
Don Macnaughton
John McKenzie
Chris McLaren
David Moore
Tom Moore
Jerry Moreno
Bill Notz
Roxy Peck
Marta Remmenga
Rosemary Roberts
Allan Rossman
Milo Schield
Anne Sevin
Bob Stephenson
Ron Tracy
Joe Ward
Ron Wasserstein
Joan Weinstein
Dex Whittinghill
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Macalester College
Pomona College
Winthrop University
Carleton College
Winona State University
Cornell College
University of the Pacific
Mount Holyoke College
National Center for Education Stat.
University of Texas - San Antonio
Virginia Commonwealth University
University of Minnesota
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Tech.
North Carolina State University
Gustavus Adolphus College
Ludwigburg College (Germany)
SUNY-Empire State College
University of Minnesota
Valencia Community College
Simmons College
MathSoft, Inc.
SUNY-Empire State College
Reed College
Texas A&M Univ - Kingsville
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Tech.
SUNY-Empire State College
Stanford
St. Lawrence University
ASA/Connecticut Chapter Ed. Corn.
University of Queensland (Australia)
MatStat
Babson College
Moorhead State University
Purdue
Grinnell College
John Carrol University
Ohio State University
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
New Mexico State University
Bowdoin College
Dickinson College
Augsburg College
Framingham State College
Iowa State University
Oakland University
Northside ISD
Washburn University
Pine Manor College
Rowan College
lxa@nrc.gov
ballman@macalester.edu
dbentley@pomona.edu
bentley;@winthrop.edu
abiester@carleton.edu
wncarolj@vaxz.winona.msus.edu
acannon@cornell-iowa.edu
bchance@uop.edu
gcobb@mtholyoke.edu
mcohen@inet.ed.gov
lcollins@math.utsa.edu
jmdavenp@vcu.edu
delma001@marron.tc.umn.edu
ld@bell-labs.com
dietz@stat.ncsu.edu
dobler@gac.edu
engel-joachim@ph-ludwigsburg.de
lgaines@sescva.esc.edu
jbg@maroon.tc.vmn.edu
garrison@gatenet.net
rgoldman@vmsvax.simmons.edu
timh@statsci.com
ljconsul@ix.netcom.com
jones@reed.edu
mland@tamuk.edu
jml@bell-labs.com
blawrenc@sescva.esc.edu
laura@stat.stanford.edu
rlock@vm.stlawu.edu
jlove@bi-pharm.com
msm@maths.uq.edu.au
donmack@hookup.net
mckenzie@babson.edu
mclaren@mhdl.moorhead.msus.edu
dsm@stat.purdue.edu
mooret@ac.grin.edu
moreno@jcvaxa.jcu.edu
win@stat.ohio-state.edu
rpeck@calpoly.edu
mremmeng@nmsu.edu
rroberts@bowdoin.edu
rossman@dickinson.edu
schield@augsburg.edu
jimandanne@worldnet.att.net
wrstephe@iastate.edu
tracy@oakland.edu
joeward@tenet.edu
zzwass@washburn.edu
weinstej@pmc.edu
whittinghill@rowan.edu
  1. Introduction of section officers, Congratulations and Thank you's

    Jackie Dietz introduced the 1997 section officers and thanked Jerry Lyons from Springer for providing the refreshments for our meeting. She also congratulated Christine McLaren as the 1998 Chair-elect and new executive committee members, Jon Cryer and Anne Sevin. Jackie also thanked Ron Wasserstein for handling the Best Contributed Paper Award, Roxy Peck for this year's program, Jerry Moreno for arranging the round table discussions and Carol Joyce Blumberg, Joan Garfield and Tom Moore for the section's newsletter.

  2. Minutes and Treasurer's report

    The minutes of the 1997 Business Meeting were distributed and approved. The June 30 financial statement shows approximately $6800 in the treasury. Income and expenses from the Proceedings are not included in this figure.

  3. Best Contributed Paper Award

    The Best Contributed Paper Award was presented to Robin Lock by Ron Wasserstein.

  4. Announcements

    1. Tom Moore reported on the response from the American Statistical Association's Advisory Review Group about the NCTM's K-12 Mathematics Standards Update. Details are provided on the our Web page. Tom welcomes additional responses.

    2. Carol Joyce Blumberg has decided to resign as newsletter editor. She has been serving in this capacity for three years. Jackie Dietz announced that Terry King of NW Missouri University has agreed to take over these responsibilities. Joan Garfield and Tom Moore have agreed to continue serving as assistant editors and Carol Joyce will continue to be involved with the newsletter as well.

    3. Jackie Dietz called for ideas for the section's Web site.

    4. Jackie Dietz reported on the Journal of Statistics Education (JSE). JSE is in its 5th year and subscriptions continue to rise. JSE has been operating from a FIPSE grant from the Department of Education. ASA is considering sponsoring the journal and their recommendation will be out in December.

    5. David Moore reported on a recent survey of members. One area of special concern is whether the sections are providing services in return for their dues. He also reported that he would be available in February, March and April of 1998 to visit Chapters. Requests should be made through Nancy Hewitt.

    6. Tim Hesterberg reported that S-Plus has a new evaluation copy available. He would be interested in seeing any new teaching initiatives using this software.

    7. Chris McLaren expressed a concern that Stats Magazine is not being put to good use. She asked that we make sure that this resource is available to our students in our own programs and departments. Tom Moore also suggested that the Stat Horizons (MAA) is a useful resource and it is inexpensive to obtained in bundles to pass out to students.

    8. Don Bentley reported on the American Math Competition and the International Math Olympiad. Around .75 million junior and senior high schools participate. Good statistics problems are needed for the exam. Names of anyone interested in working on such problems should be sent to Don. MAA sells copies of past exams.

  5. Reports from Program Chairs

    1. 1997 Program

      Roxy Peck reported that are fourteen sessions sponsored by the section, with something in education at every time slot. This includes three invited sessions, 1 poster session and 10 contributed paper sessions. Jerry Moreno reported that 10 round table sessions were also held this year.

    2. 1998 Program

      Jerry Moreno reported on plans for next year's program. So far there are three invited sessions: a session on Technology and Education being organized by Tom Short, a session on Teaching Statistics to Students with Disabilities organized by Carol Joyce Blumberg, and a session on the AP Statistics Courses organized by Dex Whittinghill. The contributed sessions planned so far are one on Quantitative Literacy and a panel discussion by new Ph.D.'s about their educational experiences. If anyone has an interest in chairing a session contact Jerry.

    3. 1999 Program

      Rosemary Roberts announced that Brad Hartlaub will be the 1999 program chair.

  6. Report from Section Chair

    Jackie Dietz reported on the following items from the executive committee meeting:

    1. Requests for financial support

      Several requests for financial support were made to the executive committee. The executive committee approved $750 each to 1) the ASA Poster and Project Competition for prizes, 2) the Undergraduate Data Analysis Contest which is operating under a new format, and 3) to pay the travel expenses of the invited speakers for next year's session on Teaching Statistics to Students with Disabilities.

    2. Possible changes to Section Charter

      The section's charter is overdue for a review. A committee will be appointed to suggest changes. These changes will be on the ballot for next year to be voted on by section members. Some possible changes include making the Newsletter Editors members of the executive committee and changing one of the 'at-large' Executive Committee Members to a Continuing Education Officer.

  7. Report from Council of Sections

    Jim Davenport reported on Council of Sections meeting. The Council of Sections is the link between the sections and the Board of Directors. The ASA budget is fine although there is some concern about journal subscription revenue. The Constitution Committee worked on revisions of the constitution and by-laws to present at the December Board meeting. Look for more information on this in the Amstat News.

  8. Educom Medal Awards Program

    Jackie Dietz described the Educom Medal Awards Program and directed members to the Educom web site (http://www.educom.edu) for additional information about the award and past recipients. The Statistical Education Section is responsible for selection of this year's recipient. Various suggestions for soliciting nominations and for the process of selection were discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:38 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted
Marta D. Remmenga
Secretary/Treasurer


Return to Section on Statistical Education Home Page.