Winners of Student Paper Competition 2012

  • Georg Matthias Goerg "Testing for white noise against locally stationary alternatives", Carnegie Mellon University
  • Wonyul Lee "Multiple Response Regression for Gaussian Mixture Models with Known Labels", University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Yiping Yuan "Maximum likelihood estimation over directed acyclic Gaussian graphs", University of Minnesota
  • Xiangxin Zhu "Predicting Simulation Parameters of Biological Systems using a Gaussian Process Model", University of California at Irvine

The papers will be presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) 2012 in San Diego, CA. The session devoted to the winners will be on July 31, Tuesday, 8:30 AM - 10:20 AM. Awards will be presented at the session.

The SLDM Section of the ASA would like to acknowledge the generous support of Facebook which is the sole sponsor of this year's competition. Facebook is committed to high quality research that benefits our users, partners, and advertisers.

The Student Awards 2012 Committee:

  • Hernando Ombao (Chair, University California at Irvine)
  • David Banks (Duke University)
  • Howard Bondell (North Carolina State University)
  • Bertrand Clarke (University of Miami)
  • Wei Pan (University of Minnesota)
  • Annie Qiu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)