Awards > Awards and Scholarships

Edward C. Bryant Scholarship
for an Outstanding Graduate Student in Survey Statistics

Each year, an outstanding graduate student in survey statistics is awarded the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship to help support the student's graduate education.

Westat established the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund in 1995 to honor its cofounder and chair emeritus. Under Bryant's leadership, Westat, an employee-owned statistical firm established in 1961, has grown into what is now one of the world's leading statistical research corporations serving federal, state, and local governments, as well as businesses and foundations.

Selection Criteria

Selection of the scholarship recipient is made by the ASA Bryant Scholarship Award Committee. The committee chooses the recipient using the following criteria:

  • Potential to contribute to survey statistics
  • Applied experience in survey statistics
  • Performance in graduate school

Each applicant should arrange for three letters of recommendation to be sent to the committee.

Form of Award

The award consists of a certificate and $2,500.

Important Dates

Applications and letters of recommendation must be received by March 1 each year. See flyer for details.
The award will be presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in August.


To obtain an application, click here or email

Committee Members

Click here for more information about the committee.

Current Winner

2014: Shu Yang, Iowa State University