Awards & Recognition > Awards and Scholarships

Lingzi Lu Memorial Award

Current Winner: The 2015 winner is Peng Liu, a student at the University of Pittsburgh.

An award is being created by the American Statistical Association (ASA) in partnership with the International Chinese Statistical Association (ICSA) in remembrance of Lingzi Lu. The first-year student in the master's program in statistics at Boston University lost her life in the senseless bombing at the Boston Marathon in April 2013. She was an ambitious, talented and vibrant student, who eagerly looked forward to a career as a master's-level statistician.

Through the Lingzi Lu Memorial Award, the ASA and the ICSA will support the studies of similarly dedicated people who are in master's programs in statistics or who have recently earned their master's degree in statistics. The hope is that in so doing, the award will honor not only the memory of Lingzi, but also the talented statistician she would have become. The award will provide support for travel to the ASA's annual Conference on Statistical Practice.

Qualifications: To be eligible, applicants must be enrolled in a master's degree program in statistics or biostatistics at the time of application for the award, or must have completed a master's degree in statistics or biostatistics no more than two years prior to the time of application for the award.

Form of Award: The award will provide up to $1,300 for registration and travel support to the ASA Conference on Statistical Practice, which takes place every February.

Application Process: Application and deadline information will be announced each year by the ASA and the ICSA through each organization's member-communications channels. Applications will be received by the ASA, and the award recipient will be selected by a committee jointly appointed by the ASA and the ICSA.

How to Submit an Application: Submissions should include the application, two academic reference letters, CV, and a personal essay. To obtain an application click here.

Send application packet by October 15 to Pam Craven at or mail to:

American Statistical Association
Attn: Awards Nominations
732 N. Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-1943

Application Deadline: October 15 each year for CSP travel the following February. The winner will be announced by December 1st year.

Committee Members: Click here for more information about the committee

To contribute online to the award fund, please click here (part way down the form are instructions for how to designate your contribution to the Lingzi Lu Memorial Fund). Those individuals or companies that contribute at least $500 or $2500, respectively, by December 31, 2013, will be gratefully acknowledged as "Founding Contributors" on this website.

Founding Contributors

Ivan S.F. Chan
Ming-Hui Chen
David and Miki Donoho
Xuming He
Shelley Hurwitz
Eric D. Kolaczyk and Josée Dupuis
Ying Lu
Luke Miratrix
Sally C. Morton and Kurt P. Kearcher
Art Owen
Bob and Sandra Rodriguez
Sally and Terry Speed
Maura E. Stokes
Ron and Sherry Wasserstein
Jun Yan
Yuhong Yang and Zhaohui Wu
Bin Yu
Christian Statisticians
Iowa Foundation for Education, Environment, and the Arts
Johnson & Johnson