Albuquerque Chapter of the ASA

Affiliation with Mu Sigma Rho

Mu Sigma Rho is the national honorary society for statistics. Its purpose is to promote and encourage scholarly activity in statistics, and the recognition of outstanding achievement among the students in eligible academic institutions.

Historical Background

In February, 2005, the National Mu Sigma Rho approved a proposal that Chapters of the American Statistical Association to become an affiliate chapter of Mu Sigma Rho.  This decision allows students from New Mexico who do not attend schools with Mu Sigma Rho chapters to become members through a process coordinated by the Albuquerque Chapter of the ASA (ACASA). This would provide an opportunity for the ACASA to pursue further outreach with more isolated campuses and boost awareness of the ASA and the local chapter (by encouraging students to become members of the ASA when they join Mu Sigma Rho).

Procedures for Nominating Students (nomination form)

Students may be nominated by faculty members (including Professors at all levels, Lecturers, and Research Scientists) located at an educational institution in New Mexico. The nominator is responsible for forwarding a copy of the student's academic transcript along with evidence that the nominee has satisfied the requirements (at UNM top 1/3 of class is overall GPA of 3.25), and providing full contact information for the student to the Chair of the Mu Sigma Rho Subcommittee by March 15th of each year for induction in that year.

Once nominations are received, and all information is verified and the student is deemed eligible, the Subcommittee will forward recommendations to the ACASA Planning Committee. Ordinarily the Planning Committee will approve nominations based upon the recommendations of the Subcommittee. Once the Planning Committee has approved these names, letters will be sent to the students inviting them to join Mu Sigma Rho. The nominator will also be sent a copy. All students who accept this nomination will be invited to an induction ceremony at the regularly scheduled ACASA annual meeting. Then the Mu Sigma Rho Subcommittee Chair will send the list of students who accept membership along with the dues to the the Secretary/Treasurer of the National Mu Sigma Rho organization. A certificate will then be sent to each inductee. A copy of the nomination materials for all successful nominees is provided annually to the secretary of the ACASA chapter.

The ACASA Mu Sigma Rho Subcommittee seeks to create and maintain a list of liaisons at colleges and universities to seek statistics students with these qualifications for nomination. The Subcommittee submits a brief annual report for the ACASA website regarding chapter activities during that year.

For more information, contact Erik Erhardt (erikerhardt at
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
MSC01 1115
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Timeline of Yearly Cycle

March 15th:
Deadline for nominations (including academic transcript, contact information, and verification of membership requirements) to the Subcommittee Chair.
March 30th: Subcommittee meets to review nominations.
April 15th: ACASA Planning Committee acts on Nominations, letters sent to nominees.
Late September: Induction ceremony at the regularly scheduled ACASA annual meeting.

Student Inductees
  • 2015
    • Greg Lambert (University of New Mexico)
    • Katherine Cauthen (University of New Mexico)
    • Cristina Murray-Krezan (University of New Mexico)
  • 2014
    • Maozhen Gong (University of New Mexico)
    • Mary Paiz (University of New Mexico)
  • 2012
    • Katherine E. Freeland (University of New Mexico)
    • Lane T. Drew (University of New Mexico)
    • Mary M. Colberg (University of New Mexico)
    • Xueqin Wang (University of New Mexico)
  • 2008
    • Bevin Moon (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Alvaro Nosedal-Sanchez (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Rich Warr (Grad, University of New Mexico)
  • 2006
    • Cynthia Bothwell (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Erik Barry Erhardt (Grad, University of New Mexico), Subcommittee Chair 2006-8
    • Nina Greenberg (Grad, University of New Mexico), Secretary/Treasurer 2007
    • Chen Meng (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Valerie Peters (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Kristina Strandberg (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Zibonele A Valdez-Jasso (Grad, University of New Mexico), Secretary/Treasurer 2006
    • Alejandro Villagran-Hernandez (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Wenxia Ying (Grad, University of New Mexico)
    • Victoria Cruz (UGrad, University of New Mexico)
    • Kayla Foulke (UGrad, University of New Mexico)
    • Casey Richardson (UGrad, University of New Mexico)
    • Daena Richter (UGrad, University of New Mexico)
    • Adam Treibel (UGrad, University of New Mexico)

Regular Members (former or current ACASA Mu Sigma Rho subcommittee members)
  • Erik Barry Erhardt, Founder 2006-8 (University of New Mexico), Subcommittee Chair, 2008 ACASA President
  • Cedric Sallaberry, Founder 2006-7 (Sandia National Laboratories), 2006 ACASA President
  • Laura Salter Kubatko, Founder 2006 (University of New Mexico)
  • Gabriel Huerta, Founder 2006-7 (University of New Mexico)
  • Zibonele A Valdez-Jasso, Founder 2006 (University of New Mexico), Secretary/Treasurer
  • Scott Vander Wiel 2007 (Los Alamos National Laboratory), 2007 ACASA President
  • Nina Greenberg 2007 (University of New Mexico), Secretary/Treasurer

Chapter Committee Meeting Minutes


Committee Members of ACASA Mu Sigma Rho 

Five members of the ACASA agreed to serve as members to oversee the process of nominating, vetting, and recommending new members for Mu Sigma Rho:
  1. Erik Barry Erhardt email (University of New Mexico), Subcommittee Chair
  2. Scott Vander Wiel (Los Alamos National Laboratory), ACASA President
  3. Cedric Sallaberry email (Sandia National Laboratories),
  4. Gabriel Huerta email (University of New Mexico)
  5. Nina Greenberg email (University of New Mexico), Secretary/Treasurer
This group acts as a Subcommittee of the ACASA Planning Committee, and is charged with disseminating information regarding Mu Sigma Rho in the region covered by the chapter (New Mexico), soliciting nominations for new members, bringing recommendations for new Mu Sigma Rho members to the Planning Committee for final decision, and forwarding dues and names to the Mu Sigma Rho national secretary/treasurer.
The first chapter committee meeting took place Wed, 8 Feb 2006 at 1pm MST.  A conference call was initiated from UNM to Sandia between Founding Committee Members:
  • Erik Barry Erhardt (University of New Mexico), Subcommittee Chair
  • Cedric Sallaberry (Sandia National Laboratories)
  • Laura Salter Kubatko (University of New Mexico)
  • Gabriel Huerta (University of New Mexico)
  • Zibonele A. Valdez-Jasso (University of New Mexico)