

AMERICAN STATISTICAL ASSOCIATION

2023 Founders

The following are being honored for rendering distinguished service to the association.



Karen Kafadar, University of Virginia

For nearly 30 years of service to the ASA, including serving as council representative for the Colorado-Wyoming Chapter, editor of *Technometrics*, JSM program chair for the Section on Physical and Engineering Sciences, and chair of the Section on Statistical Computing on two separate occasions; for service on nine ASA committees and task forces, including outstanding leadership on the Forensic Science Advisory Committee and Climate Change Advisory Committee; for two terms as a member of the Committee on Publications and two terms on the ASA Board of Directors as publications representative; and for outstanding leadership as the 2019 ASA president.

Amarjot Kaur, Merck & Co.

For thoughtful financial leadership of the ASA, including service on the Development Committee, Investments Committee, and ASA Board of Directors as treasurer; for service on the Committee on Fellows, Deming Lectureship Committee, Committee on Applied Statisticians, and Membership Growth Working Group; for leadership in launching the Council of Industry Representatives; for enhancing connections between the ASA and International Indian Statistical Association during presidency of that association; and for relentless interest in ensuring that diverse voices are heard and contribute to the success of the ASA.





Mary J. Kwasny, Northwestern University

For leadership of ASA chapters—including long and outstanding service to the Chicago Chapter, having taken on nearly every leadership role for that chapter—serving as chair of the Council of Chapters Governing Board, and serving on the ASA Board of Directors as Council of Chapters representative; for helping create the Harry V. Roberts Award and leading the award committee; for serving as publications officer for the Section on Statistical Consulting; for serving on the Committee on Nominations and Conference on Statistical Practice Steering Committee; and for leading the ASA's fundraising work as chair of the Development Committee.

Vijayan N. Nair, University of Michigan

For service to the ASA spanning more than 30 years; for leading the journal Technometrics

as its editor and also by chairing its management committee; for serving on and chairing the Committee on Publications; for serving on the Outstanding Statistical Application Award Committee and Committee on Energy Statistics; for service on the selection committee for the International Prize in Statistics; for leadership on the Committee on Nominations, particularly developing and clarifying procedures; and for providing guidance and wise advice to the association on many occasions.





Theresa L. Utlaut, Intel Corporation

For chairing the Quality and Productivity Statistics Section and Council of Sections Governing Board; for leadership of the Oregon Chapter in several roles, including president; for leadership in launching the ASA Accreditation Program, including serving as chair of the Accreditation Committee; for chairing the Committee on Membership Retention and Recruitment and Committee on Nominations; for serving on the Constitution and Bylaws Review Task Force and Task Force on Sexual Harassment and Assault; and for 10 years of leadership and support of ASA involvement in the International Science and Engineering Fair.