Education > Caucus of Academic Representatives

The ASA's Caucus of Academic Representatives


The purpose of this Caucus is to promote the statistics discipline within the academic community and to provide resources for academic statisticians to successfully advocate for the discipline. In particular, the Caucus will

  • provide assistance to academic departments offering degrees in statistics or biostatistics;
  • provide a venue for discussion of issues affecting departments and programs in statistics and biostatistics;
  • facilitate interaction between faculty at different institutions, especially between those at research departments and at undergraduate institutions;
  • identify and collect data that are helpful for heads/chairs in dealing with their administrations and function as a repository for such data;
  • arrange a yearly meeting of the members of this group (Caucus of Academic Representatives);
  • arrange a yearly workshop for Department Chairs and Heads;
  • promote the statistics profession;

The Caucus of Academic Representatives is intended to be inclusive of all academics with an interest in promoting statistics, biostatistics, or other areas that deal with the development of similar methodologies, even if a different name is used. The term statistics (with or without the specific inclusion of biostatistics) is meant to include all of these categories.

2014-2015 Officers

Chair: Paul Rathouz, University of Wisconsin 2014-2015
Past Chair: Kathy Ensor, Rice University 2014-2015
Chair-elect: David Hunter, Pennsylvania State University 2014-2015
PhD Statistics Dept.: Montserrat Fuentes, North Carolina State University 2012-2015
PhD Biostatistics Dept.: Peihua Qiu, University of Florida 2014-2017
Other PhD: Gabriel Huerta, University of New Mexico 2014-2017
Non-PhD Dept. Julie Legler, St. Olaf College 2013-2016
Districts 1-3: Karen Kafadar, Indiana University 2012-2015
Districts 4-5: Douglas Simpson, U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2014-2017
District 6: Patrick J. Heagerty, University of Washington 2013-2016
Secretary Arnold Stromberg, University of Kentucky 2013-2016