Julius Shiskin Award for Economic Statistics

Nominations are invited for the annual Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics. The Award is given in recognition of unusually original and important contributions in the development of economic statistics or in the use of statistics in interpreting the economy. Contributions are recognized for statistical research, development of statistical tools, application of information technology techniques, use of economic statistical programs, management of statistical programs, or developing public understanding of measurement issues. The Award was established in 1980 by the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and is now cosponsored by the WSS, the National Association for Business Economics, and the Business and Economics Statistics Section of the American Statistical Association.

Julia Ingrid Lane, Senior Managing Economist and Institute Fellow at the American Institutes for Research, has been selected to receive the 2014 Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics. Dr. Lane is recognized for her contributions to the development of a new Census Bureau program that has significantly advanced research on employment dynamics. She initiated what is now known as the Longitudinal Employer Household Dynamics (LEHD) program, the first large-scale linked employer-employee dataset in the United States. This dataset filled a major data gap by providing researchers with matched employee-employer data containing information for most states on income and worker mobility and on the entry and exit of firms. She also developed one of the first remote access data enclaves with government micro data records at a private firm.

For more details, access the press release (PDF) on this website.

Because the program was initiated many years ago, it is little wonder that statisticians and economists often ask, "Who was Julius Shiskin?" At the time of his death in 1978, "Julie" was the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) and earlier served as the Chief Statistician at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and the Chief Economic Statistician and Assistant Director of the Census Bureau. Throughout his career, he was known as an innovator. At Census he was instrumental in developing an electronic computer method for seasonal adjustment. In 1961, he published Signals of Recession and Recovery, which laid the groundwork for the calculation of monthly economic indicators, and he developed the monthly Census report Business Conditions Digest to disseminate them to the public. In 1969, he was appointed Chief Statistician at the Office of Management and Budget where he developed the policies and procedures that govern the release of key economic indicators (Statistical Policy Directive Number 3), and originated a Social Indicators report. In 1973, he was selected to head BLS where he was instrumental in preserving the integrity and independence of the BLS labor force data and directed the most comprehensive revision in the history of the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which included a new CPI for all urban consumers.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for the 2015 award are being accepted now. Individuals and groups in the public or private sector from any country can be nominated. The award will be presented with an honorarium of $1000 plus additional recognition from the sponsors.

A nomination form and guidelines in PDF format are available to download:
    Nomination Form

It is preferred that the completed nomination package be submitted electronically in either Word or PDF formats. If electronic material is unavailable, then hard copy is acceptable.

E-mail electronic material to: Evans.thomas@bls.gov

Mail hard copy materials to:

    Julius Shiskin Award Committee
    Attn: Rick Peterson
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington Street
    Alexandria, VA 22314-1943

Nominations must be received by March 16, 2015.

For further information contact Thomas Evans, Julius Shiskin Award Committee Secretary, at Evans.thomas@bls.gov.

Past Recipients

Past recipients in recent years include:

A complete list of past winners of the Shiskin Award is also available.

Updated January 2015
ASA Home B&E Home Contact B&E