Committees > Committee Details

Committee on Funded Research

Charge:

  • To facilitate communication and interaction between members of the statistical community and funding organizations that support statistics such as federal agencies, non-profit organizations, and data-intensive companies.
  • To collect information on the state of funding for statistics and to provide reports to the ASA Board as needed.
  • Finally, to recommend statistical scientists for service on national science advisory committees of federal research agencies.

    Composition: The committee consists of nine members, three of whom will be appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect. One of the members is appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as Chair The ASA Director of Science Policy will be an ex-officio member of this committee.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact David M. Higdon


Membership

The Committee on Funded Research has 10 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Higdon, David M.
SDAL, Virginia Tech University
900 N. Glebe Rd
SDAL, Virginia Tech Univeristy
Arlington, VA   22203
United States
Phone: (571)-858-3120
dhigdon@vbi.vt.edu
Chair (2014 - 2015)
An, Ming-Wen
Vassar College
mian@vassar.edu
Vice-Chair (2014 - 2015)
An, Ming-Wen
Vassar College
mian@vassar.edu
Member (2014 - 2015)
Christensen, William F.
Brigham Young University
230 TMCB
Department of Statistics
Provo, UT   84602
United States
Phone: (801) 422-7057
Fax: (801) 422-0635
william@stat.byu.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Ghosh, Debashis
Colorado School of Public Health
13001 E. 17th Place
Bldg. 500, 3rd Floor, Mailstop B119
Aurora, CO   80045
United States
Phone: (303) 725-4365
Fax: (814) 863-7114
debashis.ghosh@ucdenver.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Higdon, David M.
SDAL, Virginia Tech University
900 N. Glebe Rd
SDAL, Virginia Tech Univeristy
Arlington, VA   22203
United States
Phone: (571)-858-3120
dhigdon@vbi.vt.edu
Member (2014 - 2017)
Holan, Scott H.
University of Missouri
401 Pyrenees Dr
Columbia, MO   65203-0153
United States
Phone: (573) 882-4491
holans@missouri.edu
Member (2015 - 2017)
Kannan, Nandini
National Science Foundation
National Science Foundation, DMS
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA   22230
United States
Phone: (703) 292-8104
Fax: (210) 458-6350
nakannan@nsf.gov
Member (2014 - 2016)
Messer, Karen
UCSD Biostatistics
Moores UCSD Cancer Center
3855 Health Sciences Drive, 0901
La Jolla, CA   92093-0901
United States
Phone: (858) 822-4334
kmesser@ucsd.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Rudin, Cynthia
rudin@mit.edu
Member (2015 - 2017)
Vannucci, Marina
Rice University
Dept. of Statistics
6100 Main Street
Houston, TX   77251-1892
United States
Phone: (713) 348-6132
Fax: (713) 348-5476
marina@rice.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
Fax: (703) 684-3768
pierson@amstat.org
Member Ex-Officio (2012 - 2015)
ASA Director of Science Policy
Lenth, Russell V.
University of Iowa
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Vice Chair
Santos, Robert L.
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC   20037
United States
Phone: (202) 261-5904
rsantos@urban.org
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2015 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair (ASA Vice President)
LaLonde, Donna
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1872
donnal@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2015 - 2015
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!