Committees > Committee Details

Committee on Funded Research

Charge:

  • To facilitate communication and interaction between members of the statistical community and funding organizations that support statistics such as federal agencies, non-profit organizations, and data-intensive companies.
  • To collect information on the state of funding for statistics and to provide reports to the ASA Board as needed.
  • Finally, to recommend statistical scientists for service on national science advisory committees of federal research agencies.

    Composition: The committee consists of nine members, three of whom will be appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect. One of the members is appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as Chair The ASA Director of Science Policy will be an ex-officio member of this committee.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Stephan R. Sain


Membership

The Committee on Funded Research has 9 member(s), and 4 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Sain, Stephan R.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Geophysical Statistics Project
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO   80307-3000
United States
Phone: (303) 497-1709
Fax: (303) 497-2483
ssain@ucar.edu
Chair (2014 - 2016)
An, Ming-Wen
Vassar College
mian@vassar.edu
Member (2014 - 2015)
Feng, Ziding
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Avenue N
B2B500
Seattle, WA   98109-1024
United States
Phone: (206) 667-6038
Fax: (206) 667-7004
zfeng@fhcrc.org
Member (2012 - 2014)
Ghosh, Debashis
Pennsylvania State University
514A Wartik Lab
University Park, PA   16802
United States
Phone: (814) 863-9886
Fax: (814) 863-7114
ghoshd@psu.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Higdon, David M.
Los Alamos National Laboratory
MS F600
PO Box 1663
Los Alamos, NM   87545-0001
United States
Phone: (505) 667-2091
Fax: (505) 667-4470
dhigdon@lanl.gov
Member (2014 - 2014)
Kannan, Nandini
University of Texas At San Antonio
One UTSA Circle
M/S 0632
San Antonio, TX   78249
United States
Phone: (210) 458-5691
Fax: (210) 458-6350
nandini.kannan@utsa.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Messer, Karen
UCSD Biostatistics
Moores UCSD Cancer Center
3855 Health Sciences Drive, 0901
La Jolla, CA   92093-0901
United States
Phone: (858) 822-4334
kmesser@ucsd.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Sain, Stephan R.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Geophysical Statistics Project
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO   80307-3000
United States
Phone: (303) 497-1709
Fax: (303) 497-2483
ssain@ucar.edu
Member (2011 - 2016)
Vannucci, Marina
Rice University
Dept. of Statistics
6100 Main Street
Houston, TX   77251-1892
United States
Phone: (713) 348-6132
Fax: (713) 348-5476
marina@rice.edu
Member (2013 - 2015)
Wang, Yazhen
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept of Stats-Medical Sci Center
1300 University Avenue
Madison, WI   53706
United States
Phone: (608) 262-6399
Fax: (608) 262-0032
yzwang@stat.wisc.edu
Member (2012 - 2014)
Gardner, Martha M.
General Electric
4031 Buckingham Dr
Schenectady, NY   12304-2472
United States
Phone: (518) 387-6546
martha.gardner@ge.com
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2014 - 2014
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Lenth, Russell V.
Univ of Iowa
Dept of Stats & Actuarial Sci
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Vice Chair
Palmer, J. Lynn
American Statistical Association
732 N Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
palmer@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2013 - 2014
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2012 - 2014
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!