Committees > Committee Details

Founders Award Committee

Visit the Founders Award Committee home page


  • This award is presented annually for distinguished service to the American Statistical Association. Selection criteria include service over an extended period of time and in a variety of leadership roles, including, but not limited to, chapter, section, committee, officer or editorial activities, wherein effective service or leadership was provided within ASA or on behalf of ASA to other organizations. The award is the highest level award ASA can give. Typically, no more than two awards are granted each year; however, when warranted, up to five awards may be granted in a given year. No one can be selected for the award while a member of the selection committee or on the Board of Directors.
  • Composition: The Committee consists of the Past President of ASA, who chairs the Committee, a representative from the Council of Sections, a representative from the Council of Chapters, and the Editorial Representative to the Board. The Section and Chapter Representatives serve two-year terms, with one being appointed each year to provide overlapping terms. The Executive Director is an ex officio member.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Nathaniel Schenker


The Founders Award Committee has 5 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Schenker, Nathaniel
Chair (2015 - 2015)
ASA Past President
Scinto, Philip R.
The Lubrizol Corp.
29400 Lakeland Blvd.
Drop 152B
Wickliffe, OH   44092-2298
United States
Phone: (440) 347-2161
Fax: (440) 943-9031
Council of Sections Representative (2014 - 2015)
Van Dyk, David A.
Imperial College London
Statistics Section (Mathematics)
S Kensington Campus
London,    SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom
Phone: +44 20 7594 8574
Fax: (949) 824-9863
Publication Rep to the Board (2015 - 2015)
Kasprzyk, Daniel
NORC At the University of Chicago
150 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W.
Unit 101
Washington, DC   20001
United States
Phone: (202) 232-4556
Council of Chapters Representative (2014 - 2015)
Wasserstein, Ronald L.
American Statistical Association
732 N Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221 x1860
Fax: (703) 684-3768
Member Ex-Officio (2007 - 2020)
ASA Executive Director
Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632
Awards Council Liaison
2012 - 2017
Awards Council Vice Chair
Schenker, Nathaniel
National Center for Health Statistics
3311 Toledo Road
Room 3209
Hyattsville, MD   20782
United States
Phone: (301) 458-4483
Awards Council Liaison
2015 - 2015
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)
Craven, Pamela S.
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
Staff Liaison
2006 - 2015
Return to List of Committees.