Committees > Committee Details

Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award

Visit the Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award home page


    To encourage and recognize members of the communications media who have best displayed an informed interest in the science of statistics and its role in public life. The award can be given for a single statistical presentation or for sustained worthy contributions, as would clearly be a credit to the statistical profession.

    Consideration shall be given to:

    - Correctness, clarity, fairness, brevity, and professionalism of the communications
    - Importance, relevance and overall effectiveness in impacting the intended audience
    - Impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of statistics
    - Appreciation and emphasis of the statistical aspects of a particular issue or event
    - Excellent coverage of research on statistics or statistical issues

    Composition: The committee is composed of six members, two of whom are appointed/reappointed to the Committee by the President Elect each year for three year terms. The President Elect will also appoint (when necessary) a member of the committee to serve as the Chair.

    The Chair will assign two of the other members to coordinate the nominations and selection procedure and the other three to coordinate publicity and award presentation. The committee will also carry over strong nominations from one year to the next to help maintain a strong pool of candidates for the award. All members of the committee can make and vote on nominations for the award.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Morteza Marzjarani


The Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award has 6 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Marzjarani, Morteza
Chair (2012 - 2016)
Tupek, Alan R.
Quality Sampling LLC
4270 NE 23rd Terrace
Lighthouse Point, FL   33064
United States
Phone: 240 277-2370
Vice-Chair (2015 - 2017)
Choi, Jai Won
9504 Mary Knoll Drive
Rockville, MD   20850
United States
Phone: (706) 721-4454
Fax: (706) 721-6294
Member (2013 - 2018)
Clark, B. Christine
689 Raven Road
Wayne, PA   19087
United States
Phone: (215) 815-5646
Member (2016 - 2018)
Leifer, Eric S.
16628 Cutlass Drive
Rockville, MD   20853-1334
United States
Phone: (301) 435-0439
Member (2011 - 2016)
Marzjarani, Morteza
Member (2012 - 2016)
Recta, Virginia F.
FDA/Center for Veterinary Medicine
7500 Standish Place
Rockville, MD   20855-2764
United States
Phone: (240) 204-0840
Member (2011 - 2016)
Tupek, Alan R.
Quality Sampling LLC
4270 NE 23rd Terrace
Lighthouse Point, FL   33064
United States
Phone: 240 277-2370
Member (2015 - 2017)
Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
University of Georgia
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632
Awards Council Liaison
2012 - 2017
Awards Council Vice Chair
Morganstein, David R.
1600 Research Blvd.
MS RE 492
Rockville, MD   20850-3195
United States
Phone: (301) 251-8215
Awards Council Liaison
2016 - 2016
Chair, Awards Council (ASA Past President)
Craven, Pamela S.
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
Staff Liaison
2006 - 2016
Return to List of Committees.