Committees > Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics

Charge:

  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 12 members, six to be appointed by the ASA and six to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Iwan Praton


Membership

The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 12 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Praton, Iwan
Franklin & Marshall College
Dept of Mathematics
Lancaster, PA   17604
United States
Phone: (717) 291-4238
Fax: (717) 399-4474
iwan.praton@fandm.edu
Chair (2016 - 2016)
MAA Chair
Baglivo, Jenny A.
Boston College
Dept. of Mathematics-301 Carney Hall
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA   02467
United States
Phone: (617) 552-3772
Fax: (617) 552-3789
jenny.baglivo@bc.edu
ASA Member (2011 - 2017)
Brisbin, Abra
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
603 Summit Ave
Eau Claire, WI   54701
United States
Phone: (507) 581-1802
abrisbin@gmail.com
MAA Member (2014 - 2017)
Chihara, Laura M.
Carleton College
Dept of Mathematics
One North College St
Northfield, MN   55057-4001
United States
Phone: (507) 222-4065
lchihara@carleton.edu
ASA Member (2012 - 2018)
Kaplan, Daniel
Macalester College
Math and Computer Science
1600 Grand Avenue
Saint Paul, MN   55105-1801
United States
Phone: (651) 696-6599
Fax: (651) 696-6518
kaplan@macalester.edu
MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
Kuiper, Shonda R.
Grinnell College
403 Lincoln Avenue
Holland, IA   50642-8110
United States
Phone: (641) 269-3806
Fax: (641) 269-4984
kuipers@grinnell.edu
ASA Member (2012 - 2018)
Lock, Patti
St. Lawrence University
Dept of Math CS Stat
23 Romoda Drive
Canton , NY   13617
United States
Phone: (315) 229-5292
Fax: (315) 229-7413
plock@stlawu.edu
ASA Member (2016 - 2018)
Posner, Michael A.
Villanova University
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
800 Lancaster Ave
Villanova, PA   19085
United States
Phone: (610) 519-3016
Fax: (610) 519-6928
michael.posner@villanova.edu
MAA Member (2012 - 2018)
Pruim, Randall
Calvin College
Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics
1740 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI   49546
United States
Phone: (616) 526-7113
Fax: (616) 526-6501
rpruim@calvin.edu
MAA Member (2015 - 2018)
Reyes, Eric
MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
Scott, James C.
ASA Member (2012 - 2018)
Whittinghill, Dexter C.
Rowan University
Dept of Mathematics
201 Mullica Hill Rd
Glassboro, NJ   08028-1700
United States
Phone: (856) 256-4500 x 3879
Fax: (856) 256-4816
whittinghill@rowan.edu
ASA Member (2016 - 2018)
Peck, Roxy L.
Cal Poly
P.O. Box 7088
Los Osos, CA   93412-7088
United States
Phone: (805) 528-2966
rpeck@calpoly.edu
Education Council Liaison
2010 - 2017
Education Council Vice Chair
Santos, Robert L.
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC   20037
United States
Phone: (202) 261-5904
rsantos@urban.org
Education Council Liaison
2016 - 2016
Education Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Nichols, Rebecca
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
rebecca@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2011 - 2016
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!