Committees > Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics

Charge:

  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 12 members, six to be appointed by the ASA and six to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact


Membership

The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 11 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Posner, Michael A.
Villanova University
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
800 Lancaster Ave
Villanova, PA   19085
United States
Phone: (610) 519-3016
Fax: (610) 519-6928
michael.posner@villanova.edu
Co-Chair (2015 - 2016)
Praton, Iwan
Franklin & Marshall College
Dept of Mathematics
Lancaster, PA   17604
United States
Phone: (717) 291-4238
Fax: (717) 399-4474
iwan.praton@fandm.edu
Co-Chair (2015 - 2016)
Baglivo, Jenny A.
Boston College
Department of Mathematics
301 Carney Hall
Chestnut Hill, MA   02467
United States
Phone: (617) 552-3772
Fax: (617) 552-3789
jenny.baglivo@bc.edu
ASA Member (2011 - 2016)
Brisbin, Abra
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
603 Summit Ave
Eau Claire, WI   54701
United States
Phone: (507) 581-1802
abrisbin@gmail.com
MAA Member (2014 - 2017)
Chihara, Laura M.
Carleton College
Dept of Mathematics
One North College St
Northfield, MN   55057-4001
United States
Phone: (507) 222-4065
lchihara@carleton.edu
ASA Member (2012 - 2017)
Kuiper, Shonda R.
Grinnell College
403 Lincoln Ave.
Holland, IA   50642-8110
United States
Phone: (641) 269-3806
Fax: (641) 269-4984
kuipers@grinnell.edu
ASA Member (2011 - 2016)
McGaughey, Karen
ASA Member (2013 - 2015)
Posner, Michael A.
Villanova University
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
800 Lancaster Ave
Villanova, PA   19085
United States
Phone: (610) 519-3016
Fax: (610) 519-6928
michael.posner@villanova.edu
MAA Member (2012 - 2018)
Praton, Iwan
Franklin & Marshall College
Dept of Mathematics
Lancaster, PA   17604
United States
Phone: (717) 291-4238
Fax: (717) 399-4474
iwan.praton@fandm.edu
MAA Member (2014 - 2017)
Pruim, Randall
rpruim@calvin.edu
MAA Member (2015 - 2018)
Schou, Sue B.
PO Box 4043
Pocatello, ID   83205-4043
United States
Phone: (208) 282-4608
schosue@isu.edu
MAA Member (2013 - 2016)
Scott, James C.
ASA Member (2012 - 2017)
Woodard, Roger D.
North Carolina State University
Box 8203
2311 Stinson Dr
Raleigh, NC   27695
United States
Phone: (919) 515-1938
woodard@stat.ncsu.edu
ASA Member (2013 - 2015)
Mulrow, Jeri Metzger
National Science Foundation
1061 N. George Mason Dr.
Arlington, VA   22205
United States
Phone: (703) 292-4784
jmulrow@nsf.gov
Education Council Liaison
2014 - 2015
Chair, Education Council (ASA Vice President)
Peck, Roxy L.
Cal Poly
P.O. Box 7088
Los Osos, CA   93412-7088
United States
Phone: (805) 528-2966
rpeck@calpoly.edu
Education Council Liaison
2010 - 2017
Nichols, Rebecca
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
rebecca@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2011 - 2015
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!