Committees > Committee Details

Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights

Charge:

  • The Committee concerns itself with violations of and threats to the scientific freedom and human rights of statisticians and other scientists throughout the world. The Committee also assists scientific societies or other responsible organizations on statistical questions relating to data on human rights or the use of data to limit human rights.
  • Composition: The committee is composed of nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One member is appointed by the President Elect (when necessary) to serve as the Chair.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Joseph B. Kadane


Membership

The Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights has 10 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Kadane, Joseph B.
Carnegie-Mellon University
Department of Statistics
Baker Hall 232L
Pittsburgh, PA   15213
United States
Phone: (412) 268-8726
Fax: (412) 268-7828
kadane@stat.cmu.edu
Chair (2013 - 2015)
Amer, Safaa R.
RTI International
VA   United States
safaa.r.amer@gmail.com
Member (2011 - 2016)
Babu, Gutti Jogesh
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Statistics
326 Thomas Bldg.
University Park, PA   16802-2111
United States
Phone: (814) 863-2837
Fax: (814) 863-7114
babu@psu.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Costello, Michael Alexander
MichaelAVCostello@gmail.com
Member (2013 - 2015)
Groves, Robert M.
Georgetown University
37th O Street-Box 571014 650 ICC
Office of Provost
Washington, DC   20057
United States
bgroves@georgetown.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Kadane, Joseph B.
Carnegie-Mellon University
Department of Statistics
Baker Hall 232L
Pittsburgh, PA   15213
United States
Phone: (412) 268-8726
Fax: (412) 268-7828
kadane@stat.cmu.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Kendall, Arthur J.
Social Research Consultants
6703 Forest Hill Dr.
University Park, MD   20782-1438
United States
Phone: (301) 864-5570
Fax: (301) 864-5570
Art@DrKendall.org
Member (2012 - 2017)
Long, Qi
qlong@emory.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Schonlau, Matthias
University of Waterloo
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Sciences
Waterloo, ON   N2L 3G1
Canada
schonlau@uwaterloo.ca
Member (2009 - 2014)
Wittes, Janet
Statistics-Collaborative, Inc.
1625 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Suite 600
Washington, DC   20036
United States
Phone: (202) 429-9267
Fax: (202) 429-9268
janet@statcollab.com
Member (2012 - 2014)
Gracely, Edward J.
Drexel University
Family Community & Preventative Med
2900 Queen Lane
Philadelphia, PA   19129
United States
Phone: (215) 991-8466
Fax: (215) 843-6028
egracely@drexelmed.edu
Webmaster (2013 - 2014)
Gardner, Martha M.
General Electric
4031 Buckingham Dr
Schenectady, NY   12304-2472
United States
Phone: (518) 387-6546
martha.gardner@ge.com
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2014 - 2014
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Lenth, Russell V.
University of Iowa
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2011 - 2014
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!