Committees > Committee Details

Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights

Charge:

  • The Committee concerns itself with violations of and threats to the scientific freedom and human rights of statisticians and other scientists throughout the world. The Committee also assists scientific societies or other responsible organizations on statistical questions relating to data on human rights or the use of data to limit human rights.
  • Composition: The committee is composed of nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One member is appointed by the President Elect (when necessary) to serve as the Chair.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Joseph B. Kadane


Membership

The Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights has 10 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Kadane, Joseph B.
Carnegie-Mellon University
Department of Statistics
Baker Hall 232L
Pittsburgh, PA   15213
United States
Phone: (412) 268-8726
Fax: (412) 268-7828
kadane@stat.cmu.edu
Chair (2013 - 2015)
Price, Megan
Human Rights Data Analysis Group
109 Bartlett Street
Suite 204
San Francisco, CA   94110
United States
Phone: (404) 441-5054
meganp@hrdag.org
Vice-Chair (2015 - 2015)
Amer, Safaa R.
RTI International
VA   United States
safaa.r.amer@gmail.com
Member (2011 - 2016)
Babu, Gutti Jogesh
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Statistics
326 Joad L. Thomas Building
University Park, PA   16802-2111
United States
Phone: (814) 863-2837
Fax: (814) 863-7114
babu@psu.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Costello, Michael Alexander
MichaelAVCostello@gmail.com
Member (2013 - 2015)
Groves, Robert M.
Georgetown University
37th O Street-Box 571014 650 ICC
Office of Provost
Washington, DC   20057
United States
bgroves@georgetown.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Kadane, Joseph B.
Carnegie-Mellon University
Department of Statistics
Baker Hall 232L
Pittsburgh, PA   15213
United States
Phone: (412) 268-8726
Fax: (412) 268-7828
kadane@stat.cmu.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Kendall, Arthur J.
Social Research Consultants
8333 Seminole Blvd
Unit 539
Seminole, FL   20782-1438
United States
Phone: (727) 498-7759
art@drkendall.org
Member (2012 - 2017)
Long, Qi
qlong@emory.edu
Member (2014 - 2016)
Price, Megan
Human Rights Data Analysis Group
109 Bartlett Street
Suite 204
San Francisco, CA   94110
United States
Phone: (404) 441-5054
meganp@hrdag.org
Member (2015 - 2017)
Steorts, Rebecca Carter
Carnegie Mellon University
607 Gettsburg Street
Apt. 2
Pittsburgh, PA   15206
United States
Phone: (704) 453-1597
beka@cmu.edu
Member (2015 - 2017)
Gracely, Edward J.
Drexel University
Family Community & Preventative Med
2900 Queen Lane
Philadelphia, PA   19129
United States
Phone: (215) 991-8466
Fax: (215) 843-6028
egracely@drexelmed.edu
Webmaster (2013 - 2015)
Lenth, Russell V.
University of Iowa
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair
Santos, Robert L.
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC   20037
United States
Phone: (202) 261-5904
rsantos@urban.org
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2015 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2011 - 2015
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!