Committees > Committee Details

Scientific and Public Affairs Advisory Committee

Charge:

  • Consider public policy issues (1) which affect the statistical community or (2) to which statisticians can contribute.
  • Recommend policies to the ASA Board of Directors and
  • Serve as a liaison between ASA and other statistical experts, professional and governmental organizations, and the media on these issues.
  • Composition: The Committee consists of nine members, three of whom are appointed /reappointed each year by the President Elect for three-year terms. One member will be appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as Chair. The members should represent an array of ASA professional interests.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Dr. Jerome P. Reiter


Membership

The Scientific and Public Affairs Advisory Committee has 9 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

Reiter, Jerome P.
Duke University
Dept. of Statistical Science
Box 90251
Durham, NC   27708-0251
United States
Phone: (919) 668-5227
Fax: (919) 684-8594
jerry@stat.duke.edu
Chair (2015 - 2017)
McCaffrey, Daniel F.
ETS
2666 Timberglen Drive West
Wexford, PA   15090
United States
Phone: (412) 613-1603
dmccaffrey@ets.org
Vice-Chair (2015 - 2015)
Datta, Susmita
University of Louisville
Dept. of Bioinformatics & Biostatistics
485 E. Gray St.
Louisville, KY   40202
United States
Phone: (502) 852-0081
Fax: (502) 852-3294
susmita.datta@louisville.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Hayek, Lee-Ann C.
Smithsonian Institution
MRC 121
P.O. Box 37012
Washington, DC   20013-7012
United States
Phone: (202) 633-0842
hayekl@si.edu
Member (2012 - 2016)
McCaffrey, Daniel F.
ETS
2666 Timberglen Drive West
Wexford, PA   15090
United States
Phone: (412) 613-1603
dmccaffrey@ets.org
Member (2010 - 2015)
Meleth, Sreelatha
RTI International
2951 Flowers Road
Atlanta, GA   30341
United States
Phone: (770) 407-4936
sreelatha.meleth@gmail.com
Member (2012 - 2017)
Reiter, Jerome P.
Duke University
Dept. of Statistical Science
Box 90251
Durham, NC   27708-0251
United States
Phone: (919) 668-5227
Fax: (919) 684-8594
jerry@stat.duke.edu
Member (2012 - 2017)
Rosenberger, James L.
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Statistics
326 Thomas Building
University Park, PA   16802-2111
United States
Phone: (814) 865-1340
Fax: (814) 863-7114
jlr@psu.edu
Member (2010 - 2015)
Shara, Nawar
Medstar Research Institute
3147 Bradford Wood Court
Oakton, VA   22124
United States
Phone: (301) 560-7364
Fax: (301) 560-7321
nawar.shara@medstar.net
Member (2014 - 2016)
Tucker, Clyde
CNN
1739 Key West Lane
Vienna, VA   22182
United States
Phone: (703) 338-0059
nctucker@cox.net
Member (2011 - 2016)
Watkins, Joseph
jwatkins@math.arizona.edu
Member (2015 - 2017)
Lenth, Russell V.
University of Iowa
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science
241 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA   52242
United States
Phone: (319) 335-0712
russell-lenth@uiowa.edu
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2011 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair
Santos, Robert L.
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC   20037
United States
Phone: (202) 261-5904
rsantos@urban.org
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2015 - 2015
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org
Staff Liaison
2010 - 2015
 
Return to List of Committees.

Share!