Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship

Most Recent Winners

Julia Wrobel

Julia Wrobel

Columbia University

To Julia Wrobel for academic achievement in pursuit of a PhD in biostatistics at Columbia University; diligent research and early establishment of a research program in functional data analysis—as demonstrated by her publications and computational developments—extraordinary community building among her peers; and volunteer support of young women developing technical skills.

Michelle Pistner

Michelle Pistner

Penn State University

To Michelle Pistner for academic achievement in preparation for and work toward a PhD in statistics at Penn State University; early establishment as an outstanding collaborative scientist; promising work in the field of statistical data privacy methodology; and longstanding volunteerism in support of her family and community.

Honorable Mentions

Gilia Patterson

Gilia Patterson

University of Montana

To Gilia Patterson for excellent academic achievement at the University of Montana in pursuit of a dual degree in biology and mathematics in preparation for graduate work in statistics; successful undergraduate research in statistical genetics; outstanding communication skills; and contributions to her community.

About the Scholarship

The Cox Scholarship, sponsored by the ASA Committee on Women in Statistics and Caucus for Women in Statistics, was established in 1989 to encourage more women to enter statistically oriented professions.

Two scholarship recipients are selected each year: one to a woman in or entering the early stages of graduate training (MS or PhD) and one to a woman in a more advanced stage of training. Scholarship recipients receive a certificate and $1,000.

The committee also selects honorable mentions each year. Honorable mentions receive a certificate.

Selection Criteria

Application is limited to women who are citizens or permanent residents of the United States or Canada and who are admitted to full-time study in a graduate statistics program by July 1 of the award year. Women in or entering the early stages of graduate training (MS or PhD) are especially encouraged to apply.


Applications are due by February 23, and the award is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings the same year.

Application packets should be emailed to or mailed to the American Statistical Association, attention Awards Nominations, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Scholarship Recipients

2016: Claire McKay Bowen
2016: Robin Marie Dunn
2015: Sara Ann Stoudt
2015: Elizabeth Sweeney
2014: Samantha J. Taylor
2014: Laura B. Balzer
2013: Jessica Hwang
2013: Gina-Maria Pomann
2013: Daisy Phillips
2012: Jessica Orth
2012: Christine Ho

Honorable Mentions

2016: Jessica Lynn Gronsbell
2016: Kelly Renee Moran
2015: Meridith L. Bartley
2015: Kaitlyn Cook
2015: Jami Nishelle Jackson
2014: Amanda Mejia
2014: Shannon Gallagher
2014: Vivian Meng-Wang
2013: Anu Mishra
2013: Natalie Exner
2012: Lucy D’Agostino
2012: Naomi Brownstein
2012: Julia Shin-Jung Lee
2012: Diana Marie Liley