Harry V. Roberts Statistical Advocate of the Year Award

Most Recent Winner

Howard Wainer

Howard Wainer

For a half century of statistical advocacy in his writing, lecturing, and teaching. His activities include 30 years of writing his popular column in CHANCE; 24 books on wide-ranging statistical topics, both technical and popular; teaching both undergraduate and graduates at Chicago, Princeton, and Wharton; frequent service as an expert witness on statistical issues, primarily in education; editorial service; and service to the profession.

About the Award

The Harry V. Roberts Statistical Advocate of the Year Award, established in 2002 by the Chicago Chapter, is named for Harry V. Roberts, an exemplar of statistical advocacy. It recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of those who have successfully advocated appropriate and effective uses of statistics and data-analytic approaches in business and the public sector. Additionally, the award recognizes the promotion of statistical reasoning by individuals who may or may not be statisticians.

The honoree receives an engraved award, $500, and paid travel expenses to a meeting of the Chicago Chapter.

Selection Criteria

Recipients are individuals whose advocacy efforts have inspired respect for data and the effective use of statistical reasoning in areas where such respect and use were lacking. They also have had a significant impact on an organization or sector.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association and the Chicago Chapter will use this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and award. Further, the recipient is expected to attend a Chicago Chapter meeting and make a presentation.


The award is given at a meeting of the Chicago Chapter and the honoree is also recognized at the Joint Statistical Meetings.

Nominations are due by February 15 and require the following:

  • Nominating letter
  • Candidate’s CV
  • (Optional) Two letters of support—not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s headshot

Note: As the nominee may not be a statistician, per se, information in the nomination letter should include how the nominee advocates for the appropriate and effective use of statistics and impact achieved through this advocacy.


Please contact the chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2018: David Allison
2017: Rayid Ghani
2016: Davina P. Durgana
2013: Roger Hoerl
2009: Avinash Kaushik