Links Lecture Award

Most Recent Winner

Bruce Meyer

Bruce Meyer

McCormick Foundation Professor at The University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy

For adding important links in the progress of official statistics through research and advisory activities.

About the Award

The Links Lecture Award was created to honor the contributions of Constance Citro, Robert Groves, and Fritz Scheuren and to contribute to advancement of work in official statistics through the statistical use of administrative records and alternative data sources, record linkage, statistical methods for creating blended estimates, and issues associated with these activities such as privacy, confidentiality, researcher access, and reproducibility of results. Each year, a lecturer will be chosen from among a set of nominated candidates to receive the award and to present a lecture.

The award includes a modest honorarium and travel expenses to present the Links Lecture in the Washington, DC, area.

Selection Criteria

The award will be given to the nominee whose work, in the judgment of the award committee, has most contributed to the advancement of official statistics through the following:

  • Statistical use of administrative records and alternative data sources
  • Record linkage
  • Statistical methods for creating blended estimates
  • Issues associated with the activities listed here such as privacy, confidentiality, researcher access, and reproducibility of results


Nominations are due by June 1. Nominators should submit—at minimum—a CV and two letters of support. The nomination should clearly document the ways in which the nominee meets the criteria for the award, emphasizing the impact of the nominee’s work on official statistics. Email nominations to

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient will present a lecture in the Washington, DC, area about their work at a mutually agreed-upon time. The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the prize.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2018: Frauke Kreuter