Statistical Partnerships Among Academe, Industry, and Government (SPAIG) Award

Most Recent Winners

William A. Brenneman
Procter & Gamble

Roshan V. Joseph
Georgia Intsitute of Technology

Shan Ba

Fang Cao
Wells Fargo

Li Gu
Amazon Inc.

Evren Gul
Loyalty One

Lulu Kang
Illinois Institute of Technology

William R. Myers
Procter & Gamble

Chien-Fu J. Wu
Georgia Intsitute of Technology

For collaborative research leading to significant advancements in quality, reliability, and analysis and design of physical and computer experiments.

About the Award

The SPAIG Award was established in 2002 to recognize outstanding partnerships between academe, industry, and government organizations, as well as to promote new partnerships among these organizations. The award is sponsored by the SPAIG committee of the ASA and distinct from other ASA awards in that it recognizes outstanding collaborations between organizations, while recognizing key individual contributors.

Selection Criteria

Nominees must represent at least two of the organizations from academe, industry, or government. Also, their collaboration must have resulted in significant contributions to the statistical field with applications to real-world problems. Examples include publications, presentations at statistical conferences, exchange visits, support for graduate students, consulting jobs, grant support for faculty, and continuing education opportunities for statisticians outside of academe.


Nominations are due by March 1, and required information can be found on the sample preview.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipients are responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the certificate.


Visit the SPAIG website.

Recent Award Recipients

2019: Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, University of Washington, and Sanofi Pasteur & Smith College, Mount Holyoke College, Amherst College, Hampshire College, University of Massachusetts - Amherst, and MassMutual Financial Group 2018: The Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Evidence (CSAFE) & The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
2017: Laboratory for Analytic Sciences (LAS) & National Science Foundation and U.S. Census Bureau
2012: Baylor University and Eli Lilly & Company
2011: Nationwide Center for Advance Customer Insights, The Ohio State University, and Insights and Analytics Nationwide Insurance Company
2010: Pfizer Inc. and Rutgers University

Read about other recipients.