Claire Bowen, Ron Prevost Named to Census Scientific Advisory Committee

Noel Cressie
Kerrie Mengersen

ASA members Claire Bowen and Ron Prevost were appointed to the Census Scientific Advisory Committee this spring. Bowen, a 2021 Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies Leadership Academy Winner, is principal research associate and the statistical methods group lead at the Urban Institute. Her research focuses on developing and assessing the quality of differentially private data synthesis methods and science communication. Prevost, a research professor with the Massive Data Institute at the Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy, is a technical expert for administrative records, big data, record linkage, and the statistical modeling of integrated data to improve the national statistical infrastructure.

According to the CSAC website, the “members advise the Census Bureau director on the uses of scientific developments in statistical data collection, survey methodology, geospatial and statistical analysis, econometrics, cognitive psychology, business operations, and computer science as they pertain to the full range of Census Bureau programs and activities, including census tests, policies, and operations.”

Bowen and Prevost were both nominated by the American Statistical Association. Identifying such committees, as well as individuals who should be nominated to them, is the key charge of the ASA External Nominations and Awards Committee, chaired by Amit Bhattacharyya. The committee invites input on its work from ASA members.

Over the past year, the ASA nomination of Tufts Professor Elena Naumova to serve on the Biosolids Panel for the EPA Scientific Advisory Board was also successful. In addition, ASA President Katherine Ensor wrote a letter of support for Cynthia Rudin’s successful nomination for the $1 Million Artificial Intelligence Prize.

The ASA also supported the successful presidential nominations of Robert Santos to be director of the US Census Bureau and Adriana Kugler to be US executive director of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.