Norman Beery Memorial Scholarship

About the Award

The Norman Beery Memorial Scholarship was established by Susan Mayo to honor her father, Norman Beery, who was a veteran and railroad worker, and help first-generation college students like her. A first-generation college student is someone whose parent(s) and grandparents did not complete a four-year college or university degree.

The $3,000 scholarship will be given annually to a student enrolled in or planning to enroll in a statistics, biostatistics, or science (e.g., natural, social, computer) program incorporating statistics. It can be used to pay for any costs related to the recipient’s education such as books, tuition, and housing.

Selection Criteria

  • Enrolled in or planning to enroll in a statistics, biostatistics, or science program that substantially incorporates statistics
  • High-school or college GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • First-generation college student

Preference will be given to undergraduate students and those with financial need.


Applications are due by February 15 and require the following:

  • Résumé
  • Personal statement detailing the importance of a college education and challenges faced as a first-generation college student. Financial need can also be addressed in the statement but is not required.
  • Proof of current GPA and enrollment or intention to enroll in a statistics or science program that incorporates statistics
  • Reference form or letter of recommendation, which can be from a family member
  • Signed statement from parent or guardian confirming the applicant is a first-generation college student (optional)

Scholarship Recipient Responsibilities

The scholarship recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the scholarship is awarded. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the scholarship.


Contact Elizabeth Henry.

Recent Award Recipients

2019: Busola Ololade Sanusi
2019: Laura Elizabeth Wiener
2019: Nina Zhou
2018: Christopher R. Barbour
2018: Thevaa Chandereng
2018: Will A. Eagan