Jackie Dietz Best Journal of Statistics and Data Science Education Paper Award

In honor of Thomas Short for his contributions to JSDSE and the greater statistics education community.

Most Recent Winner

Eric A. Vance

Eric A. Vance

University of Colorado, Boulder

For the paper, “Using Team-Based Learning to Teach Data Science”

About the Award

Established in 2011 and named in honor of Jackie Dietz, founding editor of the Journal of Statistics and Data Science Education (JSDSE), the award is presented annually to the best paper among all those appearing in the JSDSE.

The award is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings each year and consists of a certificate and $1,500, which is provided by a fund created by William I. Notz. The cash prize is divided evenly among the authors of the paper selected.

Selection Criteria

Consistent with the JSDSE editorial policy:

  • For the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including elementary, secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education.”
  • Enhance the exchange of a diversity of interesting and useful information among educators, practitioners, and researchers around the world.”
  • Intended audience includes anyone who teaches statistics, as well as those interested in research on statistical and probabilistic reasoning.”


  • Presents original, novel ideas
  • Provides new insights in some area of statistics education


  • Has the potential to benefit a wide audience of readers
  • Includes practical ideas statistics teachers can use to improve their teaching


  • Deals with important ideas
  • Demonstrates some depth of investigation in a topic


  • Engages and entices the reader
  • Expresses ideas clearly, efficiently, and accurately

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient(s) are responsible for providing a current photograph and general information, along with permission to reprint the work in ASA promotional materials.


Outside nominations are not accepted.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2021: Lynette M. Hudiburgh, Diana Garbinsky
2020: Heather S. Smith, Eric Vance
2019: Nathan Tintle, Jake Clark, Karen Fischer, Beth Chance, Soma Roy, George Cobb, Todd Swanson, Jill VanderStoep
2018: Julian Stander and Luciana Dalla Valle
2017: Jane Watson, Lyn D. English
2016: Ellen Gundlach, Chantal Levesque-Bristolm, K. Andrew R. Richards, David Nelson
2015: Jennifer J. Kaplan, John Gabrosek, Phyllis Curtiss, and Christopher John Malone
2014: Jennifer L. Green and Erin Blankenship
2013: Roger Woodard and Herle McGowan
2012: Nathan Tintle, Jill VanderStoep, Vicki-Lynn Holmes, Brooke Quisenberry, and Todd Swanson
2011: Maxine Pfannkuch, Matt Regan, Chris Wild, and Nicholas J. Horton