W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting

Most Recent Winner

Eric A. Vance

Eric A. Vance

University of Colorado Boulder

About the Award

In December of 2008, the ASA Board of Directors accepted a gift from Janet Elashoff, daughter of W. J. Dixon, to endow a fund establishing the W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting. The award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to statistical consulting and to honor the memory of Dixon. Award recipients are presented with a certificate and $500. The award is given every year on the recommendation of the nominating committee.

Selection Criteria

The award is given to a distinguished individual who has demonstrated excellence in statistical consulting or developed and contributed new methods, software, or ways of thinking that improve statistical practice in general.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and certificate.


Nominations are due by February 15 and require the following:

  • Nominating letter
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Candidate’s headshot

Note: The nominating letter should provide a detailed statement about why the nominee’s contributions in statistical consulting or analysis merit an award and address the following criteria:

Outstanding contributions to advancing the science and art of statistical consulting or analysis (e.g., contributions that extend beyond the nominee’s home institution), by:

  1. Demonstrated excellence in statistical consulting and/or
  2. Improved statistical practice in general by contributing to one or more of the following areas:
    • Methods (developed new methods or improved understanding and use of existing methods)
    • Software (developed new methods or improved understanding and use of existing software)
    • Ways of thinking


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2022: George P. McCabe
2021: David DeMets
2020: Terry Therneau
Herbert Weisberg
2018: Albert Madansky
2017: Janice Derr

Past Recipients