Beyond AP Statistics Workshop for Experienced Teachers

Workshop for Experienced Teachers

Sponsored by the ASA-NCTM Joint Committee on Curriculum in Statistics and Probability

The Beyond AP Statistics (BAPS) workshop is for AP Statistics teachers and two-year college educators and consists of enrichment material just beyond the basic AP/intro statistics syllabus. Organized by Roxy Peck of Cal Poly, the workshop is divided into four sessions led by noted statisticians.

Monday, August 17 – Tuesday, August 18
12:00 – 4:00 p.m. ET

This virtual workshop is free, but advance registration is required.

Program

Virtual BAPS 2020

 
Monday, August 17
 
12:00 – 12:15 p.m. ET (9:00 – 9:15 a.m. PT)
Welcome and Introductions
12:15 – 1:45 p.m. ET (9:15 – 10:45 a.m. PT)
Allan Rossman, Introduction to Bayesian Statistics
1:45 – 2:00 p.m. ET (10:45 – 11:00 a.m. PT)
Break
2:00 – 3:30 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT)
Beth Chance, More Than Two Variables
3:30 – 4:00 p.m. ET (12:30 – 1:00 p.m. PT)
Q&A
 
Tuesday
 
12:00 – 12:15 p.m. ET (9:00 – 9:15 a.m. PT)
Welcome and Introductions
12:15 – 1:45 p.m. ET (9:15 – 10:45 a.m. PT)
Chris Franklin, The Role of Questioning and Nontraditional Data Types in AP Statistics
1:45 – 2:00 p.m. ET (10:45 – 11:00 a.m. PT)
Break
2:00 – 3:30 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT )
Roxy Peck, Logistic Regression
3:30 – 4:00 p.m. ET (12:30 – 1:00 p.m. PT)
Q&A

Registration

This virtual workshop is free, but advance registration is required. We will invite the first 50 to participate and place the rest on a waiting list. For questions, contact Rebecca Nichols at rebecca@amstat.org.

Register

Questions?

Rebecca Nichols
ASA Director of Education
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
rebecca@amstat.org

Scholarship

The ASA/NCTM Joint Committee will provide some registration scholarships. For more information, contact ASA Director of Education Rebecca Nichols.