Statistical Partnerships Among Academe, Industry, and Government (SPAIG) Award

Most Recent Winners

The COVID-19 Multicountry Research Group

Key contributors:

Bethany L. Hedt-Gauthier
Harvard University

Isabel R. Fulcher
Harvard University

Megan B. Murray
Harvard University

Dale Barnhart
Harvard University/Partners In Health

Jean Claude Mugunga
Partners In Health

Peterson Abnis I. Faure
Partners In Health/Haiti

Melino Ndayizigiye
Partners In Health/Lesotho

Emma Boley
Partners In Health/Liberia

Moses B. Aron
Partners In Health/Malawi

Zeus Aranda
Partners In Health/Mexico

Jesus Peinado
Partners In Health/Peru

Vincent K. Cubaka
Partners In Health/Rwanda

Foday Boima
Partners In Health/Sierra Leone


About the Award

The SPAIG Award was established in 2002 to recognize outstanding partnerships between academe, industry, and government organizations, as well as to promote new partnerships among these organizations. The award is sponsored by the SPAIG committee of the ASA and distinct from other ASA awards in that it recognizes outstanding collaborations between organizations, while recognizing key individual contributors.

Selection Criteria

Nominees must represent at least two of the organizations from academe, industry, or government. Also, their collaboration must have resulted in significant contributions to the statistical field with applications to real-world problems. Examples include publications, presentations at statistical conferences, exchange visits, support for graduate students, consulting jobs, grant support for faculty, and continuing education opportunities for statisticians outside of academe.


Nominations are due by March 1, and required information can be found on the sample preview.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipients are responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the certificate.


Visit the SPAIG website.

Recent Award Recipients

2020: William A. Brenneman, Evren Gul, Roshan V. Joseph, Lulu Kang, Shan Ba, William R. Myers, Fang Cao, Chien-Fu J. Wu, Li Gu
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, University of Washington, and Sanofi Pasteur & Smith College, Mount Holyoke College, Amherst College, Hampshire College, University of Massachusetts - Amherst, and MassMutual Financial Group
2018: The Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Evidence (CSAFE) & The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
2017: Laboratory for Analytic Sciences (LAS) & National Science Foundation and U.S. Census Bureau
2012: Baylor University and Eli Lilly & Company
2011: Nationwide Center for Advance Customer Insights, The Ohio State University, and Insights and Analytics Nationwide Insurance Company
2010: Pfizer Inc. and Rutgers University

Read about other recipients.