ASA Mentoring Award

Most Recent Winner

Steven J. Schwager

Steven J. Schwager

Cornell University

For over 40 years of passionate dedication to the mentoring and personal and professional welfare of students, co-workers, and colleagues; for teaching and emphasizing that the role of statistician goes well beyond math and includes characteristics and values such as courtesy, respect, honesty, integrity, obligation, and empathy; for inspiring and providing council for many to pursue statistics as a career path; for teaching and inspiring mentees to mentor others; for offering and providing support, encouragement, and council in matters of statistics, education, consulting, professionalism, and life; for pushing mentees to achieve as much as possible, commending our success, and telling us—when necessary—that failures occur for each of us but we should not allow them to define us; for treating mentoring as his ‘main job’ with a ‘life warranty.’

About the Award

The ASA Mentoring Award is given each year to a member who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in developing the careers of statistics students, statisticians, or statistical researchers early in their careers. The award honors those people recognized by their colleagues for their sustained efforts over a long period supporting the work and developing the careers of statisticians.

Selection Criteria

Outstanding mentorship over a long period. Nominees must be ASA members.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and certificate.


Nominations are due by March 1 and require the following:

  • Nominating letter - not to exceed two pages
  • Additional supporting letters are welcome - not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s headshot


Please contact the committee chair.

Previous Winners
2018: Michael H. Kutner
2017: J. Stuart Hunter
2016: Fritz J. Scheuren and Douglas A. Zahn