Edward C. Bryant Scholarship for an Outstanding Graduate Student in Survey Statistics

Most Recent Winner

Ying Han

Ying Han

University of Maryland, College Park

For exceptional scholarship and an outstanding record of publications and presentations as a graduate student.

About the Scholarship

Westat established the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund in 1995 to honor its cofounder and chair emeritus and to help support a student’s graduate education. Under Bryant’s leadership, Westat—an employee-owned statistical firm established in 1961—has grown into one of the world’s leading statistical research corporations serving federal, state, and local governments, as well as businesses and foundations.

One scholarship recipient is selected annually. Honorees receive a certificate and cash prize of $2,500.

Selection Criteria

Selection of the scholarship recipient is made by the ASA Bryant Scholarship Award Committee based on the following criteria:

  • Potential to contribute to survey statistics
  • Applied experience in survey statistics
  • Performance in graduate school


An application and three letters of recommendation must be received by March 1. The award will be presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in the same year.

Download an application or request one by emailing awards@amstat.org. Application packets should be sent to awards@amstat.org or mailed to the American Statistical Association, attention Awards Nominations, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Scholarship Recipients

2017: Hejian Sang
2016: Judith N. Law
2014: Shu Yang