Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award

Most Recent Winner

Wayne Fuller

Wayne Fuller

Iowa State University

To Wayne Fuller for his outstanding contributions to three broad areas of statistical theory: time series analysis; measurement error models; and survey sampling; for his translation of this theoretical work into applied statistical methods and practices that have contributed significantly to the U.S. federal statistical system; and for other statistical programs in the U.S. and internationally.

About the Award

The Samuel S. Wilks Award was established in 1964 to honor the memory and distinguished career of Samuel S. Wilks. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to statistics that carry on in the spirit of his work.

The Wilks Award includes an engraved award and two cash benefits: $500 is provided by Friends of the U.S. Army to honor Wilks’ contributions to Army research programs and $1,000 is provided by a fund created by Alexander M. Mood to honor Wilks’ teaching skill and life-long development of outstanding statisticians. This second award was established in 2008 at $1,000, but will increase by 3% annually.

Selection Criteria

The Wilks Memorial Award is bestowed upon a distinguished individual who has made statistical contributions to the advancement of scientific or technical knowledge, ingenious application of existing knowledge, or successful activity in the fostering of cooperative scientific efforts that have been directly involved in matters of national defense or public interest.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the prize.


Nominations are due by February 15, and the award is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in August the same year.

Send copies of documentation in support of your nominee to or mail to 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, attention Award Nominations.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2016: David Donoho
2015: James O. Berger
2014: Madan L. Puri
2013: Kanti Mardia
2012: Peter Hall
2011: Nan M. Laird