Committees > Committee Details

W. J. Dixon Award Committee

Visit the W. J. Dixon Award Committee home page


    Select annually a worthy recipient of the WJ Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting. The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing the science and art of statistical consulting or analysis. Each recipient must have demonstrated excellence in statistical consulting or have developed and contributed new methods, software, or ways of thinking for improving statistical practice in general.

    Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • customizing known general tools or creating new ones to meet unique
  • needs in individual projects,
  • producing and supporting widely used statistical software,
  • creating educational schemas and teaching materials,
  • including authoring statistics texts or case studies which promote effective consulting practices,
  • collaborating on outstanding and important subject-matter publications which exemplify how statistical science can contribute vitally in designing, analyzing, and reporting important research studies.
  • Composition: The committee will consist of six members, two of whom will be appointed each year by the ASA President Elect to three year terms. No member will serve more than one consecutive term. One of the members with the longest continuous service on the committee will be selected by the President Elect to act as the Chair each year.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Michael H. Kutner


The W. J. Dixon Award Committee has 6 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Kutner, Michael H.
11 Downing Ln
Decatur, GA   30033-1412
United States
Phone: (404) 712-9708
Fax: (404) 727-1370
Chair (2015 - 2015)
Green, Timothy A.
Vice-Chair (2015 - 2015)
Arellano, Consuelo
North Carolina State University
Dept. of Statistics
2311 Stinson Dr
Raleigh, NC   27695-8203
United States
Phone: (919) 515-1923
Member (2015 - 2017)
Barker, Chris M.
Statistical Planning and Analysis Services, Inc.
287 Chestnut Street
San Carlos, CA   94070
United States
Phone: (415) 609-7473
Member (2012 - 2015)
Franck, Christopher Thomas
Member (2015 - 2017)
Green, Timothy A.
Member (2014 - 2016)
Kutner, Michael H.
11 Downing Ln
Decatur, GA   30033-1412
United States
Phone: (404) 712-9708
Fax: (404) 727-1370
Member (2013 - 2015)
Price, Karen L.
Member (2014 - 2016)
Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632
Awards Council Liaison
2012 - 2017
Awards Council Vice Chair
Schenker, Nathaniel
National Center for Health Statistics
3311 Toledo Road
Room 3209
Hyattsville, MD   20782
United States
Phone: (301) 458-4483
Awards Council Liaison
2015 - 2015
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)
Craven, Pamela S.
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
Staff Liaison
2009 - 2015
Return to List of Committees.