ASA Elects Forward-Thinking Leaders to Board of Directors

ALEXANDRIA, VA, May 15, 2024 – Today, the American Statistical Association announced the election of Jeri Mulrow as the 121st president. Her term begins January 1, 2026, with a one-year term as president-elect beginning January 1, 2025.

Acknowledging the impact of the ASA on her professional development, Mulrow is committed to paying it forward so other statisticians and data scientists have their own opportunities to advance their technical knowledge, communication and collaboration skills, and leadership experiences. Mulrow will also continue to raise awareness of the value of statistics and data science to our broader societies, advocate for equitable and representative data to make decisions, and support statistical and data science literacy at all ages.

“The best thing about the ASA is it continues to grow and evolve as we, its members, adapt to meet the changing statistical needs of our times,” Mulrow said.

As vice president and sector lead, data solutions, at Westat, Mulrow leads statistics and data science, as well as complex survey operations, working collaboratively to promote efficiency and facilitate innovative research solutions. Her areas of statistical expertise include sampling and estimation methodologies, survey methodology and design, data quality and process improvement, and data visualization and information dissemination. Prior to joining Westat in 2019, Mulrow served as the principal deputy director for the Bureau of Justice Statistics in the US Department of Justice, providing leadership and oversight of the design, collection, analysis, and dissemination of data on the US justice system.

Mulrow became a member of the ASA as a graduate student. Her service to the ASA includes Council of Sections Governing Board representative to the ASA Board of Directors from 2009 to 2011 and vice president from 2014 to 2016. Mulrow is an elected fellow of the ASA and an active member of the Washington Statistical Society.

F. DuBois Bowman was elected to serve as ASA vice president. His term will begin January 1, 2025. During his tenure, he looks forward to working with colleagues and peers across the ASA to position the field as a changemaker and influencer on a range of disciplines and key issues.

Bowman notes, "This is an exciting moment for statisticians to lead on some of our most pressing issues in society, including rapidly evolving AI technologies, climate change, combating misinformation, and more.”

Bowman has been dean of the University of Michigan School of Public Health since 2018. His research program mines massive data sets and has implications for mental and neurological disorders such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, depression, schizophrenia, and substance addiction.

Bowman is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an elected fellow of the ASA, and a past president of the Eastern North American Region of the International Biometric Society. He is a member of the editorial board for the Annual Review of Statistics and Its Application and has served as associate editor of both Biometrics and the Journal of the American Statistical Association.

The ASA membership also elected the following board members:

  • David Corliss, Grafham Analytics, Board of Directors Council of Chapters Representative, 2025 to 2027
  • Sharina Person, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Board of Directors Council of Sections Representative, 2025 to 2027

ASA members also elected officers for each of its 30 sections.

ASA members vote for candidates of their choice to the open positions on the board of directors two years before the beginning of the elected officers’ terms. This process allows the newly elected officers to serve a year as a director or officer-elect before they serve their elected term.