Edward C. Bryant Scholarship for an Outstanding Graduate Student in Survey Statistics

Most Recent Winner

Soumojit Das 

Soumojit Das

University of Maryland, College Park

About the Scholarship

Westat established the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund in 1995 to honor its cofounder and chair emeritus and to help support a student’s graduate education. Under Bryant’s leadership, Westat—an employee-owned statistical firm established in 1961—has grown into one of the world’s leading statistical research corporations serving federal, state, and local governments, as well as businesses and foundations.

One scholarship recipient is selected annually. Honorees receive a certificate and cash prize of $2,500.

Selection Criteria

Selection of the scholarship recipient is made by the ASA Bryant Scholarship Award Committee based on the following criteria:

  • Potential to contribute to survey statistics
  • Applied experience in survey statistics
  • Performance in graduate school


Applications are due by March 1 and require the following:

  • Candidate's CV
  • Personal essay (minimum length one page, double-spaced)
  • Three reference letters—not to exceed two pages each (academic references preferred) and saved as a .pdf file—uploaded by the writer using this link. Instruct the reference writers to include the candidate's last name in the file name.
  • All academic transcripts (unofficial transcripts acceptable)
  • Candidate’s headshot


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Scholarship Recipients

2022: Stephanie Wu
2021: Sepideh Mosaferi
2021: Xiaofei Zhang
2020: Ali Rafei
Lingxiao Wang
No winner selected
2018: Ying Han
2017: Hejian Sang

Past Recipients