Founders Award

Most Recent Winners

Scott Evans

Scott Evans

The George Washington University

Xuming He

Xuming He

University of Michigan

Kathy Monti

Kathy Monti

Rho, Inc. (retired)

About the Award

The Founders Award recognizes members who have rendered distinguished service to the association. Typically, no more than two awards are granted annually, and the award does not have to be granted every year; however, when warranted, up to five awards may be given each year.

Award recipients are presented with a certificate and engraved award. 

Selection Criteria

The individual(s) selected will have served the association for an extended time, usually in a variety of leadership roles wherein effective service or leadership was provided within the ASA or through ASA outreach to other organizations. The individual's contributions will have had significant impact on the association beyond the time of her/his incumbency.

The Founders Award Committee depends on the American Statistical Association membership to submit nominations. The award may not be given to a sitting member of the Founders Award Committee or a sitting member of the ASA Board of Directors.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient(s) will be responsible for providing a current photograph for the following year's awards book.


Nominations are due by March 15. The award is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in August the same year. Nomination letters should contain a list of people who can be contacted to verify the candidate’s credentials and provide additional information. Email nominations to [email protected].


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2020: John Bailer
Ronald S. Fecso
Nancy Flournoy
2019: William I. Notz
2019: Allan J. Rossman
2019: Dalene Stangl
2019: David A. van Dyk
2018: Daniel Kasprzyk
2018: Alicia Carriquiry
2018: Marie Davidian
2017: Wendy Martinez
2017: Jane Pendergast
2017: Nick Horton
2017: John Eltinge
2016: John Czajka
2016: Rod Little
2016: Jim Rosenberger
2016: Maura Stokes
2015: Jim Albert
2015: David Banks
2015: Sally Morton

Past Recipients
2014: James Cochran
2014: Christine Franklin
2014: Sastry Pantula
2013: Mary Ellen Bock
2013: Xiao-Li Meng
2013: Jeri Mulrow
2012: Mary Batcher
2012: Christy Chuang-Stein
2012: Lynne Stokes
2011: Wayne Fuller
2011: Nat Schenker
2011: Bill Smith
2011: Robert Starbuck
2010: Janet Buckingham
2010: Dan Solomon
2010: George Williams
2009: June Morita
2009: Bob Rodriguez
2009: W. Robert Stephenson
2009: Jessica Utts
2009: Stephen Fienberg
2008: Linda Young
2008: David Scott
2007: Katherine Wallman
2007: George Cobb
2007: Gary McDonald
2006: Wendy L. Alvey
2006: John E. Boyer, Jr.
2006: E. Jacquelin Dietz
2006: Robert L. Santos
2006: Joe H. Ward
2005: Linda H. Gage
2005: Joan B. Garfield
2005: Albert Madansky
2004: Roger Hoerl
2004: Dallas E. Johnson
2004: William R. Schucany
2004: Ray A. Waller
2003: Roxy L. Peck
2003: James H. Matis
2003: Lynne Billard
2002: Sallie Keller-McNulty
2002: W. Michael O'Fallon
2002: Edward J. Wegman
2001: Jon R. Kettenring
2001: David S. Moore
2000: Nancy J. Kirkendall
1999: Richard F. Gunst
1999: Jerry L. Moreno
1999: Gladys H. Reynolds
1998: David R. Morganstein
1998: Janet L. Norwood
1998: Jerome Sacks
1998: Fritz J. Scheuren
1997: Barbara A. Bailar
1997: Judith M. Tanur
1997: Lorraine Denby
1996: Susan Ellenberg
1996: Ramanathan Gnanadesikan
1996: Donald Guthrie
1996: Michael H. Kutner
1995: Mary A. Foulkes
1995: Charles H. Goldsmith
1995: J. Stuart Hunter
1995: Donald W. Marquardt,
1994: Vickie S. Hertzberg
1994: David C. Hoaglin
1994: James M. Landwehr
1993: Rich D. Allen
1993: Samuel W. Greenhouse
1993: Daniel G. Horvitz
1993: I. Richard Savage
1993: Bruce E. Trumbo
1992: Richard L. Anderson
1992: Ralph A. Bradley
1992: William H. Kruskal
1992: Robert L. Mason
1992: John D. McKenzie
1992: Fredrick A. Mosteller
1991: Robert V. Hogg
1991: Ronald L. Iman
1991: Paul D. Minton
1991: Ingram Olkin
1991: Joan R. Rosenblatt
1990: Morris H. Hansen
1990: John Neter
1990: Richard L. Scheaffer
1989: Fred C. Leone
1989: Margaret E. Martin