Lester R. Curtin Award

Most Recent Winner

Yuxuan (Daisy) Jin

Yuxuan (Daisy) Jin

About the Award

The Lester R. Curtin Award was established to help promising young health statisticians get the skills and training they need to make significant contributions in their area of study. The award was created to honor the memory of Lester, or “Randy,” and his long career of working tirelessly to teach and mentor his colleagues at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Health Statistics. The award will provide $1,000 for general registration and travel support in addition to up to $400 toward CE course registration offered at the ASA Conference on Statistical Practice, which takes place every February.

Selection Criteria

Past chairs from the Health Policy Statistics, Survey Research Methods, Biopharmaceutical, Teaching Statistics in the Health Sciences, Mental Health Statistics, Statistics in Epidemiology, and Biometrics sections will select the award winner. To be eligible for the award, applicants must work in the field of health statistics (broadly defined as either applied, including public health policy, or clinical work) or be enrolled in a graduate program to prepare for such work. Preference will be given to those who have been working in the field for five or fewer years, or who are still in graduate school.


Applications are due by October 15 and require the following:

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Personal essay (maximum of 500 words)
  • Two reference letters – not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s headshot


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2022: Ransmond Berchie
2021: Melissa Jay
2021: Robert Anthony Tumasian III
2020: Amandeep Kaur
Serifat Adedamola Folorunso
2019: Brian Kwan
2018: Munir Winkel
2018: Samantha Montag
2017: Jami Jackson Mulgrave

Past Recipients