Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award

Most Recent Winner

Jeremy M. Taylor

Jeremy M. Taylor

University of Michigan

About the Award

The Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award was established in 1964 to honor the memory and distinguished career of Samuel S. Wilks. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to statistics that carry on in the spirit of his work.

The Wilks Award includes an engraved award and two cash benefits: $500 is provided by Friends of the U.S. Army to honor Wilks’ contributions to Army research programs and $1,000 is provided by a fund created by Alexander M. Mood to honor Wilks’ teaching skill and life-long development of outstanding statisticians. This second award was established in 2008 at $1,000, but will increase by 3% annually.

Selection Criteria

The Wilks Award is bestowed upon a distinguished individual who has made statistical contributions to the advancement of scientific or technical knowledge, ingenious application of existing knowledge, or successful activity in the fostering of cooperative scientific efforts that have been directly involved in matters of national defense or public interest.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the prize.


Nominations are due by February 15 and require the following:

  • Nominating letter
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Up to three letters of support—not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s headshot


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2022: Jessica Utts
2021: Sallie Keller
 Malay Ghosh
Alan E. Gelfand
2018: Peter J. Bickel
2017: Wayne Fuller

Past Recipients