Waller Awards

Most Recent Winners

Education Award

Albert Y. Kim

Albert Y. Kim

Smith College

Distinguished Teaching Career Award

William I. Notz

William I. Notz

The Ohio State University

About the Awards

The Waller Awards were established by a contribution from retired ASA Executive Director Ray Waller and his wife, Carolyn. The Waller Education Award honors individuals for innovation in the instruction of elementary statistics. The Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award recognizes an individual for sustained excellence in teaching and statistics education. Recipients for each award are presented with a certificate and $1000.

Selection Criteria

Waller Education Award

Nominees should be early in their career, with 10 or fewer years of full-time teaching, and have the responsibility of teaching the first course in statistics in a two- or four-year college or research university. Graduate teaching assistants are eligible for nomination. The recipient will be selected according to the following criteria:

  • Commitment to teaching elementary statistics
  • Demonstrated innovation in teaching elementary statistics
  • Letters of support from students, colleagues, and supervisors
  • Broader impact of the nominee on statistical education beyond the nominee’s institution

Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award

Nominees must have 20 or more years of statistics teaching experience. The recipient will be selected according to the following criteria:

  • Excellence in teaching across a variety of statistics courses
  • Innovation, scholarship, and creative efforts in education
  • Impact in statistics education beyond the nominee’s institution

Nominees who are active in teaching and education-related scholarship will receive stronger consideration from the selection committee.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

Award recipients will be responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the prize.


Nominations are due by February 15 and require the following:

  • Nominating letter - not to exceed four pages
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Four letters of support - not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s headshot


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2022: Kari Lock Morgan
2022: Paul Velleman (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2021: Amelia McNamara
2021: Larry Lesser (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2020: William Cipolli
Beth L. Chance (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
Benjamin Baumer
2019: Robert L. Gould (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2018: Lynne Schofield
2018: Deborah Nolan (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2017: Anna Bargagliotti
2017: James J. Cochran (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)

Past Recipients


2016: Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel
2016: Allan J. Rossman (Distinguished Teaching Career Award) 2015: Rebecca Nugent
2015: W. Robert Stephenson (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2014: Robin Lock (Distinguished Teaching Career Award)
2014: Andrew Zieffler
2013: Nathan Tintle
2012: Michael Posner
2011 Recipient: Michelle Everson
2010 Recipient: Amy G. Froelich
2009 Recipient: Nicholas Horton
2008 Recipient: Steve Wang
2007 Recipient: Jo Hardin
2006 Recipient: Joy Jordan
2005 Recipient: Roger Woodard
2004 Recipient: Ginger Holmes Rowell
2003 Recipient: John Holcomb
2002 Recipient: Beth Chance
Inaugural Waller Award Presented to Beth Chance